AJ Slideways runs away at Brewerton, Dale Caswell wins Dean Hubbs Memoria

By: Skip Howe

Brewerton, NY – Twenty-three DIRTCar Modifieds had their eyes focused on the twenty-fourth car, Billy Decker, who was going for his fourth consecutive feature win of 2008, could anyone stop him? Would there be a new face in victory lane at the end of the 35 lap main event?

At the drop of the green it was the “New Young One” of Larry Wight grabbing the early advantage, But, Johnny Hill would continue to pressure the young competitor and eventually at lap 13 as Wight over drove turn four, Hill got underneath to take the top spot away. At lap 19 the caution flew for Steve Hulsizer, as he broke coming out of turn two. The top five would be Hill, Timmy O’Brien, Wight, Mike Bowman and Chuck Bower.

When the green came back out Hill took off with O’Brien in Pursuit, Kevin Bates now ran third Wight and Alan Johnson rounded out the fifth spot. At lap 24 the yellow flew again as Bob Henry Jr got into Jim Witko Jr. Kevin Bates was penalized two spots for jumping the last restart which now put bates six in the lineup. Billy Decker was on the move and sat eighth for the re-start.

On the final re-start Hill remained the leader with pressure down low from O’Brien and on the outside from Alan Johnson. The three would fight for position till lap 30 When Johnson became the new leader with O’Brien in the runner up spot and Danny Johnson sitting third. At the checkered AJ Slideway’s became the second Modified winner of 2008.

The IMCA Modified ran their 11th annual Dean Hubb’s Memorial 25 lap event with a strong twenty-two car starting field.

But it didn’t take long for the hot shoes of Dale Caswell, Rich Townsend and Kevan Cook to make their way to the front and take control of the top three positions. But, all eyes were on Rob “Bob Cat” Keller, who started deep in the field after flipping in his qualifying heat. At lap 11 Keller sat 4th in the line up and at lap 15 Keller moved into the runner up spot setting his sights on Caswell.

As Keller tried to work the high side, Caswell hugged the bottom gaining control of the top spot and holding on to capture his second feature win of 2008.

The ESDCA Mod Lites brought 26 of the little monsters to the green, with Mike Mullen and Lisa Thomas bringing the field to the green.

Mullen grabbed the early advantage with the outside line following close behind. Joe Garafolo, started the event in the 14th spot and on the 9th circuit took over the top spot and took off like a rocket with Tim Devendorf and Doug Williams quickly closing from the rear of the field.

On the 16th lap Williams got around both Devendorf and Garafolo using the outside sling shot move off turn two. Lowell Zehr, followed Williams and settled in for the runner up spot.

A late caution with two laps remaining set up a shoot out between Williams and Zehr. On the re-start Williams was quick on the gas to maintain a three car length advantage and hold for another Brewerton victory, giving car owner Jeff Hayes another reason to celebrate his birthday.

The 4 Cylinder Super Stock Stocks saw Glen Erwin grab the feature win. Erwin mid pack and quickly decided that the low side wasn’t going to do it for him, so he quickly went to the top side and took off wasting no time moving into the third position.

Four circuits into the event Erwin took over the top spot, but it now was Claude Hutchings Jr who was on the move. Hutchings moved into the top five with 6 laps remaining in the event. On the next circuit Hutchings took over third and gave a hard charge at the line for Erwin, but to no prevail, Erwin would grab another feature win.

In the 4 Cylinder Super Stock Enduro, Jon Shumaway grabbed another win. Shumway started the event in the fifth spot used e very lane possible to get to the front and it worked. Shumway to date has won two at Brewerton and one at the Fulton Speedway.

For more information, please contact the speedway office at (315) 668-2526 or visit the official website at www.brewertonspeedway.com