Alan Johnson And Jake Spraker Team Up Again To Win At Brewerton Speedway

BREWERTON, NY June 25,2010 (By Dave Medler) – A race team from the past was reunited this past week and it paid off on the very first night.

Car owner Jake Spraker and Alan Johnson joined forces again as Johnson parked the Spraker Used Cars and Trucks/Pizza Logs No.1J in victory lane after the 35 lap DIRTcar Big Block Modified feature Friday night at the Brewerton Speedway. For Johnson it was his 58th career win at the D-Shaped Dirt Demon.

Other winners on K-Rock, Big 4 Tire, Goodyear Tire Night were, Dale Caswell NAPA Late Model and IMCA Modified, Joe Garafolo Beaver River Distribution ESDCA Mod Lites and Chuck Powelczyk Four-Cylinder Super Stocks.

Shawn Donath and Alan Johnson brought the starting field down to the green to start the 35 lap Big Block Modified feature with Donath grabbing the early advantage.

With 5 laps complete Donath built up a few car length advantage over Johnson and Rich Scagliotta before the yellow would fly for a three-car incident in turn four. Mike Mahaney looped his car that collected Chuck Bower and Billy Decker. Mahaney would continue but Bower and Decker were done for the night with damage.

On the restart Johnson would drive by Donath to be scored the new leader. Running the cushion Donath would retake the lead two laps later.

With 10 laps on the SUNY Canton lap counter Donath and Johnson still set the pace with Johnny Hill, Scagliotta and Jim Witko running a few car lengths back in the top-five.
On lap 15 Donath was still the leader by a half a car length at the line over Johnson. One lap later Johnson digging on the bottom would retake the lead before a yellow flew for a slowing Larry Wight.

With the restart being the last double file start Donath once again drove back into the top spot. With heat back in his tires and still running the bottom, Johnson blasted back to the lead on the 19th go around.

When starter Dave Farney gave the 10 to go sign Johnson built up a half a straightaway lead.

Donath, Witko, Mike Bowman and Matt Sheppard fought for second through fifth.

Over the final laps Johnson drove away to be the first under the checkers. Matt Sheppard, Jimmy Phelps, Shawn Donath and Jim Witko rounded out the top-five. Rich Scagliotta, Pat Ward, Johnny Hill, Michael Storms and Ryan Phelps completed the top-ten.

“We had to miss a couple big races; we were the last few days trying to get this thing ready. After Saturday we didn’t have much left,” said Alan Johnson about his old 14j and getting the new No.1J ready. “I have to thank my guys and Jake Spraker for getting us this new chassis and new body and Bicknell helped me big-time.”

Johnson also related that the car wasn’t finished till 5:00 p.m Friday just in time to get to Brewerton.

“The old car took a pretty good beating and just couldn’t be fixed any longer. We are just fortunate that Jake (Spraker) stepped up and bought us this car. I was a little worried early on, the car was really loose. Once the tires came in the car was awesome.”

In the 20-lap IMCA Modified feature Jason Amidon would lead the opening 9 laps before giving up the lead to Rich Keller at the halfway point. Keller’s lead would be short lived as Dale Caswell grabbed the top spot on lap eleven.

Once in the lead Caswell survived a late yellow and challenge from Rob Keller to pick up his 100th career win. Rob Keller, Kevan Cook, Brandon Carvey and Mike Smith rounded out the top-five.

Joe Gwilt would lead from lap-2 till lap 8 in the 20-lap NAPA Late Model feature. On lap 9 running the cushion Dale Caswell blasted by Gwilt to be scored the new leader. Once in the lead, Caswell drove away winning by a full straight away at the finish. Joe Gwilt, Alan Fink, Larry Wight and Gordy Button rounded out the top-five.

Nick Graziano would lead the opening lap of the 20-lap Beaver River Distribution ESDCA Mod Lite feature. On lap 2 Mike Mullen would get into Graziano, sending Graziano into a series of violent snap rolls exiting turn two with several other cars involved. Graziano would climb out of his car uninjured.

When the green came back out Joe Isabell Sr. would grab the lead as he would get constant pressure from Joe Garafolo. Garafolo would get by Isabell at the halfway point. Once in the lead Garafolo would go onto his 3rd win of the year out running Tim Devendorf the rest of the way. Tim Devendorf, Lowell Zehr, Rocco Leone and Justin Crisafulli would round out the top-five.

Chuck Powelczyk would get by Lorraine Powelczyk on lap 2 of the 15-lap Four-Cylinder Super Stock feature.

Once in the lead Powelczyk was class of the field grabbing his 4th win of the year.
Stephen Denton, Keith Shay, Lorraine Powelczyk and Aaron Backkus rounded out the top-five.

Coming this Friday, July, 2nd, Chandler Automotive presents the Holiday Spectacular featuring DIRTcar Big Block Modifieds 45-laps, IMCA Modifieds, NAPA Late Models, Beaver River Distribution ESDCA Mod Lites and Four-Cylinder Super Stocks followed by Brewerton Speedway’s own huge fireworks display. Gates will open at 5:30 p.m. with racing at 7:30 p.m. Adult grandstand admission is $15 with everyone 18 years old and younger admitted free.

For more information please go on line to The track office number is 315-593-6531 with the race line reached at 668-RACE.

(DIRTcar Big Block Modifieds 35 Laps) – ALAN JOHNSON, Matt Sheppard, Jimmy Phelps, Shawn Donath, Jim Witko Jr., Rich Scagliotta, Pat Ward, Johnny Hill, Michael Storms, Ryan Phelps, Jason Rood, Chad Phelps, Chris Hile, Larry Wight, Mike Mahaney, Tony Stiener, Matt Fink, Mike Bowman, Willy Decker, Billy Decker, Chuck Bower.

(NAPA Late Models 20 Laps) – DALE CASWELL, Joe Gwilt, Alan Fink, Larry Wight, Gordy Button, Dave Talbot, AJ Kingsley, Jessica McClellan.

(IMCA Modifieds 20 Laps) – Dale Caswell, Rob Keller, Kevan Cook, Brandon Carvey, Mike Smith, Jason Amidon, Josh Van Tassell, Stephen Colt, Mike Jones, Wayne Wideman, Jeff Cardinale, Rich Keller, Becca Eastman, Jeff Amidon.

(Beaver River Distribution ESDCA Mod Lites 20 Laps) – JOE GARAFOLO, Tim Devendorf, Lowell Zehr, Rocco Leone, Justin Crisafulli, Frank Sobotka, Dave Trytek, Jeff Blackburn, Sterling Miller, Clayton Brewer III, Lisa Thomas, Bruce Ackley, Rich Rogala, Sam Usborne, Lorrie Herbert, Jeff Barker, Terry Lapham, Jeff Isabell, Calvin Painter, Tom Walsh, Kyle Fink, Doug Williams, Kelly Skinner, Jamie King, Nick Graziano, Mike Mullen, Andrew Schartner.

(Four-Cylinder Super Stocks) – CHUCK POWELCZYK, Stephen Denton, Keith Shay, Lorraine Powelczyk, Aaron Backus, Jessica Herbert, Matt Fay, Brett Johnson, Jacob Palmiter, Jerry Herbert, Bill Carista, Sam Carista, Richard Leahey, Wendall Washington, Bruce Unger, Sam Curcie.