Alan Johnson Wins Second Of The Season At Fulton Speedway; Billy Decker Crowned 2009 Champion

By Dave Medler

FULTON, NY – It’s been said if you’re going to start to put wins together this is the time of the year to do it. Saturday night at Fulton Speedway Alan Johnson got by Tim Sears on lap 26 and from there was never seriously challenged in the 35 lap DIRTcar Big Block Modified Feature. For Johnson it was his second win in as many nights coming of his last lap pass and win Friday night at the Brewerton Speedway. Joining Johnson in victory lane was Billy Decker who was crowned the 2009 Big Block Modified Track Champion.

Other winners on Town Mechanical Night were Jordan Bennett in the 20 lap DIRTcar Sportsman feature, Dan Hofmann Sr. in the 15 lap DIRTcar Street Stocks, Mark Johnston in the 15 lap E&V Energy Novice Sportsman, and Chris Bonoffski in the 20 lap Gladiators. Other track champions were Timmy Sears Jr. in the DIRTcar Sportsman, Jon Shumway in the E&V Energy Novice Sportsman, Dan Hofmann Sr in the DIRTcar Street Stocks, and Bruce Unger in the Gladiators.

Chad Phelps jumped from his outside front row starting spot to lead the early going of the 35 lap Big Block Modified feature. Eric Fisher, Matt Fink and Tim Sears ran in a tight pack trying to keep pace with the leader.

With 5 laps in the books Phelps still held the lead as Fisher and Sears fought for second, Mike Bowman and Vinnie Vitale ran in the top-five. Phelps was still showing the way on lap 10 but Sears was closing rapidly running the top of the speedway. Two laps later Sears blasted around Phelps to become the new leader.

Sears opened a straightaway lead by lap 20 as Alan Johnson had moved to second and tried to close the gap on Sears. Phelps, Fisher and Bowman ran third through fifth. With the race caution free Sears would see his lead evaporate with 10 laps to go as a car slowed bringing out the first yellow.

On the restart Sears took off as Alan Johnson disposed of a lapped car and set his sights on the Sears. Johnson using the bottom of the track was able to drive by Sears on lap 26 to take over the lead. From there even with a caution period nobody seriously challenged Johnson as he was the first under the checkers. With his win Johnson finished 2nd in the overall point standings.

Roy Bresnahan had a stout run finishing in the runner-up spot. Pat Ward, Larry Wight and Billy Decker rounded out the top-five.

“The car was just awesome, I got to thank Jimmy D’s he put this motor together. I wish I could of had something like this earlier in the year, but I’m glad I got it now, it really runs good,” said Johnson standing next to his Bully’s Truck Stop No.14j Bicknell in victory lane.

Johnson finished up by saying “We have been up and down so much but lately everything has been going our way. Like I said Jimmy D built a heck of a motor for what we got in it, which isn’t a lot. I got to thank my cousin Tim, he keeps the car under me, my son in law Ryan helps me out on weekends. I just got to thank all those guys.”

In the 20 lap DIRTcar Sportsman feature Mike Fowler lead the opening lap as Rick Rogala and Katelyn Kane kept pace with the leader. By lap 5 Fowler opened up a half a straightaway lead as Rogala, Kane, Jordan Bennett and Gregg Carner raced for top-five spots. At the halfway point Fowler still set the pace with Bennett trying to close the gap on the leader before a yellow flew for a spinning Chuck DeMott.

On the restart Fowler still led but this time he didn’t pull away as Bennett was glued to his back bumper. With 5 laps to go Fowler and Bennett ran nose to tail and side by side for the top spot. One lap later Bennett inched ahead to be scored the race leader at the line when a quick yellow flew for Mark Davison.

After the restart Bennett pulled away for his first win at the Fulton Speedway for 2009. Fowler, Claude Hutchings Jr, Jeremy Pitcher and Billy Clark Jr. rounded out the top-five. Timmy Sears Jr. was the 2009 DIRTcar Sportsman Track Champion.

Dan Hofmann Sr took the lead from Adam Guilds on lap 3 of the 15 lap DIRTcar Street Stock feature and went on to his second win of the year. The win was anything but easy for Hofmann as he had to hold off repeated challenges from Nick Rizzo. Hofmann not only celebrated his win he also celebrated the 2009 Track Championship.

Matthew Parkhurst took the lead on lap 4 of the 15 lap E&V Energy Novice Sports main and looked headed for his fourth win of the year. All that changed on 3 laps from the checkers when Parhurst suddenly slowed ending his bid for the win. That left Joe Kline and Mark Johnston to fight it out to the win. On the final lap going into three and four Johnston threw it in to the topside as hard as he could pulling even with Kline exiting turn four. As the pair raced to the checkers AMB Scoring gave Johnston the win by 0.031 seconds.

With his 3rd place finish former Gladiator driver Jon Shumway was declared the 2009 E&V Energy Novice Sportsman Track Champion.

Chris Bonoffski picked up the win in the 20 lap Gladiator feature. Skip DeGroff, Joe Herbert, Josh Zirbel and Terry Royce rounded out the top-five.

Next Saturday night at the Fulton Speedway it will be $5 Admission Family Fun Night presented by Windstream Communications. On the race card will be DIRTcar Sportsman, DIRTcar Street Stocks, E&V Energy Novice Sportsman, 4 Cylinder Super Stocks, Gladiators plus Gigantic Fireworks Display. Gates will open at 5:00 p.m with race time set for 7:00.

For more information please go on line to The track office number is 315-593-6531 with the race line reached at 668-RACE.




DIRTcar Big Block Modifieds 35 Laps – ALAN JOHNSON, Roy Bresnahan, Pat Ward, Larry Wight, Billy Decker, Jim Witko Jr., Tim Sears, Chuck Bower, Tom Sears Jr., Jimmy Phelps, Mike Mahaney, Ryan Phelps, Michael Storms, Sean Beardsley, Eric Fisher, Roy Shields, Chad Phelps, Mike Bowman, Brian Murphy, Vinnie Vitale, JJ Courcy, Chris Hile, Tim Harris, Matt Fink, Dale Planck.

DIRTcar Sportsman 20 Laps – JORDAN BENNETT, Mike Fowler, Claude Hutchings Jr., Jeremy Pitcher, Billy Clark Jr., Rick Rogala, Bobby Holland, Alan Fink, Jon Tesoriero, Timmy Sears Jr., Daniel Sellen, Stewart Garrison, Earl Rudy, Ben Wheeler, Chuck DeMott, Sean McCarthy, Jason Occhino, Gregg Kimball, Shane Donath, Katelyn Kane, Gregg Carner, Mark Davison, Doug Cook.

E&V ENERGY Novice Sportsman 15 Laps – MARK JOHNSTON, Joe Kline, Jon Shumway, Colton Donath, Dave Emmons, Ed McCarthy Jr., Matthew Parkhurst, Dan Hill, Scott Kline.

DIRTcar Street Stocks 15 Laps – DAN HOFMANN SR., Nick Rizzo, Pat Hobbs, Adam Guilds, Dan Hofmann Jr., Mike Vaughn, Pete Kowaleski, Clayton Parkhurst, Dan Searles, Matt Henderson, DNS Joe Buske Jr..

Gladiators 20 Laps – CHRIS BONOFFSKI, Skip DeGroff, Joe Herbert, Josh Zirbel, Terry Royce.