Andy J wins on Opening Night at the Bullring

Other winners … Lippa Jr, Catalano and Eck

PERRY, NY – The weather was a little cool on Opening Night but the racing action was hot as Wyoming County International Speedway opened the gates for the first time in 2010. It was Meet the Drivers/Meet the Angels night as the SST Angels were on hand to meet and greet the fans that were anxiously awaiting the start of the racing action.

Joe Evans and Andy Jankowiak led the competitive field of SST Modifieds to the start of the 35 lap affair with Jankowiak getting the early advantage. Side by side action all over the 1/3rd mile led to the first caution of the night as Amy Catalano and John Julicher, Jr. ran side by side with Catalano ending up in the turn one wall. After the restart, Andy J continued to lead the way and Bill Romasser got sideways and backed it into the turn one guardrail. Cautions bleed cautions as Joe Evans and Patrick Emerling came together in turn 2 and Evans did a slide job through the infield grass and it was a great job not to slide back onto the racing surface. Andy J led from start to finish to pick up the win over John Barber and John Julicher Jr completed the top 3.

Defending SST Series and WCIS track champ Bobby Lippa, Jr. and Jeremy Gray led the field for the start of the 25 lap race for the SST Super Stocks. Austyn Fugle lost the handle in his 36 machine off of turn two on the green race track. Lippa continued to pull away from the field but no one was able to make an attempt to pass the 2009 speedway champion. Lippa led all 25 laps with Phil Alhardt, Jr. finishing in second and Mike Chenaille came home in third.

Tommy Catalano and Kevin Grom were on the front row for the start of the 20 lap 4 Cylinder feature with Catalano taking advantage of his front row starting spot and he led every single lap to take his first career win on the 1/3rd mile bullring. Action all over the speedway but nobody had a series challenge for the 14 year old from Ontario as Catalano would cross the line first with Charles Buchanan in second followed by Kevin Grom.

Jason Eck picked up the win in the Mini Cup division in his first start in the division. “Nice job after getting the car last Thursday (May 6th)” said Eck in victory lane while being interviewed by Jim Majchrzak. Kennedy White was second in her best career finish at the Bullring and Daniel Majchrzak coming in third.

Next Friday night, the SST Super Stocks will take center stage as they will run the first extra distance race of the season in a 50 lap affair. The SST Modifieds, 4 Cylinders and the Mini Cups will round out the racing card on FOAR SCORE Club night. For more information, you can call the speedway office at 585-237-2580 or you can visit WCIS on the world wide web at

American Racer Tire Presents Opening Night 2010 Official Results

SST Modifieds: ANDY JANKOWIAK, John Barber, John Julicher Jr., Dick Kluth, Patrick Emerling, Scott Reece, Brad Mosher, Joe Evans, Greg Utberg, Jim Love, Bill Romasser, Amy Catalano, Ed Schueler (DNS)

SST Super Stock: BOBBY LIPPA JR., Phil Alhardt Jr., Mike Chenaille, Austyn Fugle, Jeremy Gray, Brian Gordon (DQ), Brad Collings (DNS)

4 Cylinders: TOMMY CATALANO, Charles Buchanan, Kevin Grom, Erik Hastreiter, Daniel Majchrzak, Vic Cordova, Chris Wolcott, Bob Bogner

Mini Cups: JASON ECK, Kennedy White, Daniel Majchrzak, Robbie Micoli