APW Football Awards Banquet held

The Altmar-Parish-Williamstown Football program held its end-of-the-year awards ceremony at APW High School on November 10.

Coach John Jeffries thanked the players and their families for their support for the football program this year.

Special awards were presented to the outstanding football players for the 2012 season at their end of the season Football Banquet. Pictured are left to right: Coach Ryan Cobb, Jarid Paninski, Joe Carusone, A.J. Kimber, L.J. Phoenix, Ty Christian, Jon Phoenix and Coach John Jeffries.

Modified and Junior Varsity football participation certificates were handed out to the players by their coaching staff.

Varsity awards were then handed out by coaches John Jeffries and Ryan Cobb. Senior team members were introduced and each player received a framed color photo of them in action, a commemorative APW Rebels towel, a DVD highlight film and photo DVD.

Among the awards presented, were All League Teams including: 1st Team Offense: Jarid Paninski, Aaron Marshall and Joe Carusone; 1st Team Defense: Ty Christian, L.J. Phoenix, and Curtis Roe; 2nd Team Offense: Jon Phoenix; 2nd Team Defense: Ronnie Priest, Tylor Skellington and Colin Van Buren; Honorable Mention Offense: Jonathon Phoenix, WR; and Ty Christian, OL; Honorable Mention: Logan Shawcross, Jesse Roe and Jose Roe.

Members of the APW Varsity Football team were recognized for All League honors. Pictured, left to right in front are Curtis Roe, Joe Carusone, Ronnie Priest, Jose Roe, Tylor Skellington, Jesse Roe, Aaron Marshall, Jarid Paninski, L.J. Phoenix, Ty Christian, Colin Van Buren, and Jon Phoenix. Missing from the photo is Logan Shawcross.

Special awards included: Team MVP given to Joe Carusone, Offensive MVP awarded to Jarid Paninski, Defensive MVP was given to L.J. Phoenix, with Most Improved Award going to A.J. Kimber. The Coaches’ Award was given to Jon Phoenix. The Section Three Scholar Athlete award, which recognizes the student with the highest academic average, was given to L.J. Phoenix who will also receive a $500 scholarship with the award.

This is the third year that the Bradley L. Updyke Memorial “Rebel Award” was given. The award, named after longtime Rebels sports fan and former president of the APW Sports Boosters who passed away in 2008, is given in memory of Mr. Updyke, to the player who demonstrates the most love for the game of football. A perpetual plaque is located on the wall outside the gymnasium with each recipient’s name inscribed upon it. The 2012 Bradley L. Updyke Memorial Rebel Award was presented to Ty Christian.

Joe Carusone and L.J. Phoenix were also recognized for their selection to play in the John Arcaro Exceptional Senior Game.

A highlight film was played as the banquet came to a close, and each player received a copy of the DVD to take home.