APW Inducts New Members Into National Honor Society

The Altmar-Parish-Williamstown High School Chapter of the National Honor Society inducted eight new members during a ceremony held in late December.

Altmar-Parish-Williamstown National Honor Society President Victoria Stanton, right, presents a gift of appreciation to guest speaker Bruce Amey following the recent NHS induction ceremony held at the school. Mr. Amey served as principal of APW High School from 1987 to 2002 and said during his speech that the honor of guest speaker felt similar to a homecoming.

The returning seniors and current NHS officers Victoria Stanton, Kaitlee Benedetto, Macey Kerr, Brian Wilson and Emily Radley were given the distinct pleasure of hosting the induction ceremony and speaking about the qualities and merits of eligibility into the national academic society that was established at APW in 1971.

Guest speaker for the evening was Bruce Amey, former APW High School Principal from 1987 through 2002 and current Superintendent of Schools at the Avon Central School District.

Mr. Amey, an APW Rebel at heart, likened the honor of serving as guest speaker to a homecoming and spoke about the ideals that serve as the foundation for National Honor Society at APW.

He encouraged the inductees to embrace the quality of service and asked them to think about a world where service is put above self, saying, “What a better world you will build if we put others before ourselves.”

He also spoke about character, courage and integrity, encouraging the students to always be themselves even in the face of adversity.

“There’s never a wrong time to do the right thing,” he said.

The Altmar-Parish-Williamstown Chapter of the National Honor Society inducted eight new members at a ceremony held recently at the APW Junior/Senior High School. Pictured in the front row, left to right, are NHS inductees: Alaina Perkins, Chelsea Cooper, Lillian Hogle, Emilie Mullin, Shaylah Nichols, Kaylee Schreyer, Rachel Thormann, and Heather Wood. Middle row, left to right are: Guest speaker and former APW High School Principal Bruce Amey, APW Superintendent of Schools Gerry Hudson, APW Assistant Principal Julie Woolson, NHS Advisor Adam Wall, and APW Senior High School Principal Jamie Coppola. Back row, left to right are current NHS members: Brian Wilson, Victoria Stanton, Emily Radley, Kaitlee Benedetto, and Macey Kerr.

The 2012-13 new inductees honored at the ceremony included: Chelsea Cooper, Lillian Hogle, Emilie Mullin, Shaylah Nichols, Alaina Perkins, Kaylee Schreyer, Rachael Thormann, and Heather Wood.

Students are selected for membership into the NHS based on several requirements: a grade point average of 90 or above and possessing outstanding qualities of leadership, service and character.

A special candle-lighting was held during the ceremony to recognize the attributes of Character, Scholarship, Leadership and Service, followed by the NHS membership pledge.

APW Superintendent Gerry Hudson presented certificates to the inductees and asked the new members to look around at one another, pointing out that they are small group and encouraging them to embrace being part of “the few.”

“It’s the few that will lead the many,” He told them as he spoke about their role as “tomorrow’s leaders.”

The ceremony concluded with final remarks by NHS President Victoria Stanton who personally congratulated the new members and invited the audience to commemorate the students’ acceptance into the elite academic society with a reception in the school’s cafeteria.

For more information about the APW Chapter of the National Honor Society, call Adam Wall at 625-5220.