APW Winter Guard Hosts Home Show

The Altmar-Parish-Williamstown Winter Guard played host to the Mid-York Color Guard Circuit (MYCGC) Preview of Champions Show on March 10 with 16 performances from teams across Central New York.

APW Winter Guard
<p>Members, and grade level, of the Altmar-Parish-Williamstown Winter Guard team left to right in front are: Amber Spoon, 7th; Briann Bristol, 8th; and Elise Booth, 7th. Middle row: Angell Cutler, 11th; Taylor Fletcher, 10th; Morgan Sobotka, 12th; Jenna Cramer, 11th; Samantha Giammella, 9th. Back row: Assistant Director Lynn Booth; Consulting Staff Samantha Rogers; Cassie Bush, 8th; Toni Bush, 8th; Erica Spencer, 10th; Hope Rayder, 9th; and Director Danielle Wert.</p>

APW’s Winter Guard team, “The Almighty Sound,” performed a beautiful and technically difficult routine to the music of ‘The Drumming Song.’ Directed by Danielle Wert, with assistant director Lynn Booth, the team features a young roster with Senior Captain Morgan Sobotka, the only senior on the squad. Captain Jenna Cramer, Angell Cutler, Erica Spencer, Taylor Fletcher, Hope Rayder, Samantha Giammella, Cassie Bush, Briann Bristol, Elise Booth, Toni Bush, and Amber Spoon make up the rest of the team.

The 18 teams were divided into eight classes.

There are three different classifications for guards: cadet, JV and varsity, and these groups compete in 11 different classes — Novice, ERA and Cadet, which are made up of young guards; Scholastic Regional A and Independent Regional A, which are mostly junior varsity guards; and Scholastic A2; Scholastic A3; Independent A; Scholastic A1; Scholastic Open and Independent Open, which consists of mostly varsity guards.

The Mid-York circuit is comprised of 52 teams from the Central New York area which spans south to Binghamton, north to Canada, east to Albany and west to Penn Yan. Most are from high schools and junior high schools, but some are independent guards.

APW’s team earned first place in the SA3 class during the show over the team from Jordan-Elbridge. Other top finishers included Pine Grove in the Novice Class, Lakeside ERA in the ERA class, Northstars SRA in the SRA class, Oswego in the SA2 class, Northstars IA in the IA class, Liverpool in the SA1 class and Northstars SO in the SO class. At the awards ceremony, a special recognition of the sole senior from the APW squad was held to honor Morgan Sobotka. Awards were presented to the participants’ representatives by APW Athletic Director Bert Conklin and APW High School Assistant Principal Julie Woolson.

The MYCGC 2012 Circuit Championships will be held on March 31 and April 1 at East Syracuse-Minoa High School.