Area Students Earn Deans’ Awards at SUNY Oswego

OSWEGO, NY – SUNY Oswego has made Deans’ Awards to a select group of students from the area who have reserved places at the college starting in fall 2016.

The scholarships are $6,000 over four years. For non-New York state students, the total award can increase to as much as $42,000 in combination with a Destination Oswego scholarship.

Olivia Wood of Johnson Road in Bernhards Bay, majoring in accounting, last attended Paul V Moore High School

Cole D. Brookins of State Route 49 in Cleveland, majoring in finance, last attended Paul V. Moore High School

Kayla L. Cook of P.O. Box 37 in Cleveland, majoring in (undeclared at this time), last attended Paul V Moore High School

Victoria R. Crego of State Route 48 in Fulton, majoring in biology, last attended G. Ray Bodley High School

Julia R. Polly of County Route 6 in Fulton, majoring in psychology, last attended G Ray Bodley High School

Aaron J. Shopland of Tudo Road in Mexico, majoring in physics, last attended Mexico Academy and Central School

Gabriella V. Lanza of Roma Road in Oswego, majoring in (undeclared at this time), last attended G Ray Bodley High School

Samuel J. Oleyourryk of County Route 7 in Oswego, majoring in electrical and computer engineering, last attended Oswego High School

Nicholas Radford of West Fourth Street in Oswego, majoring in music, last attended Sandy Creek Central School

Elexis E. Rinoldo of Arcadia Avenue in Oswego, majoring in childhood education, last attended Oswego High School

Cody R. Lawson of Godfrey Road in Pennellville, majoring in meteorology, last attended John C. Birdlebough High School

Morgan I. Jordal of County Route 28 in Pulaski, majoring in adolescence education, last attended Pulaski Junior-Senior High School

SUNY Oswego honored more than 850 incoming students with merit scholarships. Outstanding first-year students are offered Presidential Scholarships of $18,800 ($4,700 a year for up to four years), $6,000 Deans’ Awards ($1,500 a year for up to four years), $3,000 Merit Awards ($750 a year for up to four years) and, for outstanding students from outside New York state, Destination Oswego scholarships of $5,000 to $9,000 a year.

The awards are part of about $5 million in merit scholarship money offered at SUNY Oswego. These funds are in addition to the more than $80 million in need-based grants, loans, work-study and scholarship awards that SUNY Oswego students receive annually.

Admission to SUNY Oswego is competitive. U.S. News Media Group counts SUNY Oswego among the top public regional universities in the North for 2016, and the Princeton Review includes Oswego in its 2016 college guidebook “The Best Northeastern Colleges” and in its national list of “Green Colleges.”

A 155-year-old comprehensive college in the State University of New York system, Oswego enrolls about 8,000 students in its College of Liberal Arts and Sciences; School of Business; School of Communication, Media and the Arts; and School of Education.

Visit for more information.