Area students earn Presidential Scholarships at SUNY Oswego

OSWEGO, NY – SUNY Oswego has awarded $18,800 Presidential Scholarships to a select group of students who are starting at the college in fall 2014.

The award recognizes past academic achievement and potential for success.

Lindzi N. Pfluger of P.O. Box 216 in Altmar (majoring in business administration).

Nattalie C. Castellano of State Route 48 in Fulton (majoring in business administration).

Courtney L. DeLong of Germandale Drive in Fulton (majoring in wellness management).

Justin D. Purtell of Old State Road in Fulton (majoring in electrical and computer engineering).

Stephanie E. Arnold of P.O. Box 512 in Mexico (majoring in mathematics).

Mattison M. Fleming of Spring Street in Mexico (majoring in meteorology).

Caroline M. Dougherty of West Third Street in Oswego (majoring in biology).

Alden N. Fox of Nine Mile Point Road in Oswego (majoring in software engineering).

Michaela R. Moran of Ellen Street in Oswego (majoring in biology).

Zachary J. Salvador of Margaret Street in Oswego (majoring in electrical and computer engineering).

Elizabeth J. Scott of Carson Drive in Oswego (majoring in human resource management).

Jonathan E. Backus of County Route 54 in Pennellville (majoring in computer science).

Ian R. Evans of Glen Abbey Terrace in Phoenix (majoring in physics).

Brenten W. Kapuscinski of Schoolcraft Road in Sterling (majoring in undeclared undergraduate).

Tyler W. Rhinehardt of Monroe Boulevard in West Monroe (majoring in computer science).

SUNY Oswego honored more than 675 incoming freshmen with merit scholarships. Outstanding first-year students are offered Presidential Scholarships ($4,700 a year for up to four years), $6,000 Deans’ Awards ($1,500 a year for up to four years), $3,000 Merit Awards ($750 a year for up to four years) and, for outstanding students from outside New York state, Destination Oswego scholarships of $5,000 to $8,000 a year.

First-year students who have completed the strongest academic programs with the highest grade averages and standardized test scores are invited to become Presidential Scholars. Students receiving the $18,800 scholarships have average high school grade averages of 94 and average SAT scores of 1240.

The awards are part of about $4 million in merit scholarship money offered at SUNY Oswego. These funds are in addition to the more than $80 million in need-based grants, loans, work-study and scholarship awards that SUNY Oswego students receive annually.

About SUNY Oswego

Admission to SUNY Oswego is competitive. U.S. News Media Group counts SUNY Oswego among the top public regional universities in the North for 2014, and the Princeton Review includes Oswego in its 2014 college guidebook “The Best Northeastern Colleges,” as well as its 2014 list of “best value” colleges and universities nationally.

A 153-year-old comprehensive college in the State University of New York system, Oswego enrolls about 8,000 students in its College of Liberal Arts and Sciences; School of Business; School of Communication, Media and the Arts; and School of Education.

Visit for more information.