Area transfer students receive Merit Awards at SUNY Oswego

OSWEGO, NY – SUNY Oswego has made $2,000 Merit Awards to a select group of transfer students who are starting at the college in fall 2014.

George Lapage of Emery Street in Fulton (formerly attended Cayuga County Community College)

Megan Cordone of P. O. Box 207 in Hastings (formerly attended SUNY Morrisville)

Rebecca Urquhart of Bardeen Road in Hastings (formerly attended Onondaga Community College)

Joseph Kurowski of East 6th Street in Oswego (formerly attended Cayuga County Community College)

Kayla Lippke of Brandybrook Lane in Phoenix (formerly attended Onondaga Community College)

Oswego’s merit awards recognize students’ past academic achievements and potential for success. A select group among the more than 700 transfer students received the awards. The awardees have a collective college grade-point average of 3.6 on the 4.0 scale. High achievers from outside New York state also received Destination Oswego Scholarships of $5,000 to $8,000 a year.

The awards are part of about $4 million in merit scholarship money offered at SUNY Oswego. These funds are in addition to the more than $80 million in need-based grants, loans, work-study and scholarship awards that SUNY Oswego students receive annually.

About SUNY Oswego

Admission to SUNY Oswego is competitive. U.S. News Media Group counts SUNY Oswego among the top public regional universities in the North for 2014, and the Princeton Review includes Oswego in its 2014 college guidebook “The Best Northeastern Colleges,” as well as its 2014 list of “best value” colleges and universities nationally.

A 153-year-old comprehensive college in the State University of New York system, Oswego enrolls about 8,000 students in its College of Liberal Arts and Sciences; School of Business; School of Communication, Media and the Arts; and School of Education.

Visit for more information.