Assembly at Fourth Street School Recognizes Student Effort

Submitted article

“Who will help me grind this wheat?” the Little Red Rooster asked his friends. “Not I” was the answer given by all. But when asked who will help me eat this bread, they all wanted to help. The play, “The Little Red Rooster” was presented by students in Mrs. Galvin’s class. Pictured left to right are: Marshal Knapp (Cat), Ryan Blake (Duck), Derrick Greco (Sheep), Zachary Brown (Dog) and Tommy Morrelli (Rooster).

“Effort: always attempting to do your best at any task you do.” Students at Fourth Street School were recognized for doing just that at a recent Character Education Assembly. Twenty-three students received awards at the ceremony held in the auditorium. Students receiving recognition for their “effort” included: Kody Barr-Jenkins, Zachary Brown, Corrie Burghardt, Keith Chetney, Derrick Greco, Stephen Hagan, Michael Haywood, Brandon Hilborn, Jeremy Hoyt, Michael Huffman, Marshall Knapp, Billie Jo Merrill, Tommy Morrelli, Liz Nowakowski, Cory Paulich, Sydni Perry, Kevin Smith, Chase Strong, Ashley Timmins, Carol Anne Ward, Patrick Welch, Talus Wiltse, and Matt Yaciuk.

Students in Mrs. Hirsch’s class began the assembly with a quote, this day in history and a joke of the day before Mrs. Galvin’s class presented a play called “The Little Red Rooster.” The play based on the “Little Red Hen” story told of effort and its rewards.

Participants in the Special Olympics were also recognized during the assembly. The Olympians brought home 55 ribbons for their efforts at the event. Participants included: Brandon Hilborn, Mike Huffman, Billie Jo Merrill, Liz Nowakowski, Kevin Smith, Talus Wiltse, Matt Yaciuk, Bettie Cornwell, Glenn Carey, Paul Casler, Thomas Fredenburg and Loren Michaels.

Mrs. Hirsch’s class ended the ceremony with a Memorial Day tribute.

The character trait for the month of June is Citizenship.

Students in Mrs. Hirsch’s class ended the Effort Assembly with a Memorial Day Tribute. Pictured are; (left to right): Tobey Mills, Kody Barr-Jenkins, Michael Haywood, and Sandy Walts.