Backus Re-appointed Co-Chair of NYS Clerks Committee

OSWEGO – Oswego County Clerk Michael C. Backus of Mexico was re-appointed co-chair of the New York State Association of County Clerks Legislative Committee, and was appointed to the newly formed SAFE-Act Committee, by Association President Cheryl Dinolfo.

Michael C. Backus
Michael C. Backus

“The New York State Association of County Clerks went on record last year as opposed to provisions of the SAFE Act that shifted more unfunded mandates onto county taxpayers,” said Backus. “There are several issues that still need to be resolved for the safety and well-being of New Yorkers, especially the costs associated with implementing the law. I am looking forward to working on the SAFE Act Committee, and continuing to advocate in Albany with my legislative committee co-chair Sandy DePerno.”

Backus was named co-chair of the legislative committee along with Oneida County Clerk Sandy DePerno who is in her third-term.

Backus was elected to his first-term as Oswego County Clerk in November 2012 and is the youngest county clerk in New York State.

The New York State Association of County Clerks has represented all 62 elected or appointed County Clerks within New York State for more than 76 years.