Billy Clark Jr. Pockets $1,500 in the Sportsman; Alan Johnson Takes Top Honors in the Big Block Modifieds at Fulton Speedway

By Dave Medler

FULTON, NY – Saturday night at the Fulton Speedway the SUNY Canton Sportsman took center stage thanks to Industrial Tire Of Central New York adding $1,000 to the winners share of the feature. After a hard fought 20 laps Billy Clark Jr. took the $1,500 top prize. Clark took the lead on a lap 16 restart from race long leader Tim Schneider, and then held off Sammy Reakes IV for the popular win.

Other winners on Ferris Mowers night were, Alan Johnson, Tracey Road Equipment Big Block Modifieds, Bodie Bellinger, NAPA Late Models, Larry Wight, CT 525/ Open Sportsman, Doug Williams, Mod Lites, Tony Finch Jr., E&V Energy Novice Sportsman and Jerry Herbert Gladiators.

Tim Schneider took advantage of his redraw position as he outran the 24 car starting field grabbing the early advantage in the 20 lap SUNY Canton Sportsman feature.

With 5 laps complete showing on the scoring tower, Schneider still led as Billy Clark Jr., Jeremy Pitcher and Sammy Reakes IV tried to keep pace with the leader. Katelyn Kane and Alan Fink fought for fourth and fifth.

Right at the halfway point disaster almost happened for the front two when a back-marker spun within inches of Schneider and Clark, but both made quick moves narrowly avoiding contact with the spun car.

With 5 laps to go Schneider led but he now had had Clark all over his back bumper just before a yellow that would change the whole race. This now put Clark, Pitcher, Reakes and Tim Sears Jr. within striking distance for the $1,500 win.

On the restart Schneider got crossed up exiting turn four allowing Clark and Reakes to shoot by to battle it out for the win. Over the final laps Clark hit his marks to be the first under the checkers in his Appledale Orchards, No.99. Reakes, Schneider, Sears and Pitcher rounded out the top-five. Dave Marcuccilli, Jordan Bennett, Bob Bennett, Bodie Bellinger and Katelyn Kane completed the top-ten.

Matt Fink and Chad Phelps led the field down to the green with Fink grabbing the early advantage in the 35 lap Tracey Road Equipment Big Block Modified Feature.

With 5 laps complete, Fink was on rails running the cushion as he opened a full straightaway lead on the field with Phelps, Jim Witko, Chris Hile and Mike Mahaney in a tight battle for top-five spots.

By lap 10 Fink was still setting a fast pace alone out front, Phelps ran alone in 2nd with Hile, Alan Johnson and Witko showing on the scoring tower.

When the starter showed the field the halfway point Fink was still out front having the crowd thinking upset feature winner. Johnson broke away running from the rest of the top-five as he now set his sights on the leader. Jimmy Phelps, Chad Phelps and Hile ran third through fifth.

On lap 20 Johnson cut Fink’s lead down to just a few car lengths as the laps started clicking off towards the finish. With Fink running the cushion and Johnson diamonding off the corners Johnson was able to catch and shoot by Fink exiting turn-four on lap 22.

Over the remaining laps Johnson was able to put cars between him and the rest of the field as wasn’t seriously challenged the rest of the way picking up the win. Jimmy Phelps, Matt Fink, Billy Decker and Ryan Phelps rounded out the top-five.

High School student Bodie Bellinger who makes the two-hour tow with his family from Johnstown, NY to the Fulton Speedway weekly paid off Saturday night. Bellinger grabbed the lead early on in the 20 lap NAPA Late feature and held off other challengers to pick up his first ever Fulton Speedway win. Jason Parkhurst, AJ Kingsley, Tim Sears Jr. and Sean Beardsley finished second through fifth.

Larry Wight dominated the CT 525/Open Sportsman feature out distancing Roy Bresnahan, Stephen Denton and Mike Button.

The hottest driver lately at the Brewerton and Fulton Speedway has been Doug Williams. Saturday night he picked up yet another win in the Mod Lites. Joe Isabell, Jeff Isabell Jr., Ricky Yelle and Chuck Demott chased Williams across the line.

Tony Finch Jr. grabbed the popular win in the E&V Energy Novice Sportsman and Jerry Herbert won the Gladiators.

This coming Saturday June 4th WOLF Radio 105.1 will present a full night of racing featuring the Tracey Road Equipment Big Block Modifieds, SUNY Canton Sportsman, NAPA Late Models, CT 525/Open Sportsman, E&V Energy Novice Sportsman, Mod Lites and Gladiators.

Gates will open at 5:00 with racing at 7:00. Adult grandstand admission will be $12 with everyone 18 years old and younger admitted free to the grandstand.

Don’t forget to follow Fulton Speedway on Facebook and on Twitter at Brewerton Speedway is also active on both Facebook and Twitter at Please call Cory Reed at 315-668-6906 or [email protected] with any questions.

(SUNY CANTON SPORTSMAN 20 LAPS) – BILLY CLARK JR., Sam Reakes IV, Tim Schneider, Timmy Sears Jr., Jeremy Pitcher, Dave Marcuccilli, Jordan Bennett, Bob Bennett, Bodie Bellinger, Katelyn Kane, Alan Fink, Gregg Kimball, John Juhl, Henry Desormeau, Matt Emmons, Michael Teachout, Christine Martin, Rob Humphries, Earl Rudy, Joe Kline, Gregg Carner, Stewart Garrison, Andrew Ferguson, Greg Mrzywka.

Clark wins $1,500 courtesy of Industrial Tire of CNY….

(TRACEY ROAD EQUIPMENT BIG BLOCK MODIFIEDS 35 LAPS ) – ALAN JOHNSON, Jimmy Phelps, Matt Fink, Billy Decker, Ryan Phelps, Pat Ward, Jim Witko, Chris Hile, Larry Wight, Mike Mahaney, Chad Phelps, Chuck Bower, Dan Vauter, Pete Taylor, Mike Ward, Joe August Jr., Mike Bowman, Dale Planck, Tim Harris.

(NAPA LATE MODELS 20 LAPS) – BODIE BELLINGER, Jason Parkhurst, Tim Sears Jr., Sean Beardsley, Brandon Kidd, Gus Schmidt, AJ Kingsley, Ryan Halliday, Mike Vaughn, Jim Southard, Scott Fowler, Dave Talbot, Dale Caswell, Steve Coit, Gordy Button.

( MOD LITES 15 LAPS) – DOUG WILLIAMS, Joe Isabell, Jeff Isabell Jr., Ricky Yelle, Chuck Demott, Rick Demo, Sam Usborne, Josh Prentice, Josh DeSantis Jr., Jamie King.

(CT 525/OPEN SPORTSMAN 15 LAPS) – LARRY WIGHT, Roy Bresnahan, Stephen Denton, Mike Button.

( E&V ENERGY NOVICE SPORTSMAN 15 LAPS) – TONY FINCH JR., Kyle DeMetro, Mike Defratis, Scott Ford, Jim Graham, CJ Casttelletti, Ron Davis III.

(GLADIATORS 15 LAPS) – JERRY HERBERT, Josh Zirbel, Mark Johnston, Chris Bonoffski, Keith Zirbel, Eric M Zirbel, Colby Herzog.