Billy Decker Makes Late Charge To Become The Fifth Consecutive Different Winner At Brewerton Speedway

By Dave Medler
BREWERTON, NY – Friday night at the Brewerton Speedway, fans were treated to one of the most exciting Tracey Road Equipment Big Block Modified events to date. In the 35 lap feature, the race saw lead changes and battles up front where you could have thrown a blanket over the top-runners for most of the race that went caution free. When the checkers flew, it was Billy Decker who made the late charge to become the fifth different winner in five races run in the 2012 season.

Other winners on WOLF Radio 105.1 New Country Night were, Kevan Cook, Nationwide Insurance IMCA Modifieds, Joe Garafolo, Beaver River Distribution Mod Lites and Zak Petrie, Anchor Bar & Grill Four Cylinder Stocks.

Tony Steiner out raced Peter Britten and the rest of the Tracey Road Equipment Big Block Modified field to lead the early going in the 35 lap feature.

With 5 laps showing on the board, Steiner opened a ten car length advantage, as rookie Tim Sears Jr. and Peter Britten fought for second with Mike Mahaney and Chril Hile showing in the top-five.

By lap 10, Steiner still led but Sears, Britten and Mahaney closed in making it four way battle for the top-spots as the ran nose to tail and side by side all over the speedway.

On lap 15 Sears dived to the bottom of the speedway to get by Steiner to be scored the new leader of the race. Sears lead only lasted to the halfway point, lap 18, as Steiner was able to drive back around Sears for the top spot. Britten and Mahaney were still right there waiting for any mistake by the top-two.

While the great battle for the lead was going on, Billy Decker was coming at a rapid pace picking off cars. In one lap, Decker went from fourth to second on lap 24 as he set his sights on Steiner. It took Decker just one lap to get around Decker to be the new leader with 10 laps to go.

Over the remaining laps, Decker was a rocket ship on the top side of the speedway as he drove away for the win. Mike Mahaney, Tim Sears Jr., Ryan Phelps and Matt Sheppard rounded out the top-five. Matt Fink, Matt Hulsizer, Peter Britten, Jimmy Phelps and Tony Steiner completed the top-ten.

“Relieved and happy to be here, we had a decent run the first night and then been struggling a little bit. You just keep swinging,” Said Decker, after parking his Gypsum Wholesalers, Stadium International Trucks, LJL Kevlar Race Engines, Bicknell, No.91 in victory lane.

“This Gypsum Wholesalers car was pretty doggone good. We lost a few positions early, couldn’t get in the right line but finally got up through there. The car felt the best up top, but had to do some passing on the bottom. I just over charged the bottom a couple times and it got me messed up and lost some ground, Said Decker about his run to the front. “The 13 car was losing an engine or something, it was skipping pretty hard. When I caught a little traction off of two, I could cut up across, get in our own lane and hopefully hold them off,”

With his win, Billy Decker joins Willy Decker, Jimmy Phelps, Alan Johnson and Ryan Phelps so far in the NAPA “Winners Classic” on the final point’s night of the season August 31. The Winners Classic is a lucrative event for Tracey Road Equipment Big Block Modified feature winners.

In the 20 lap Nationwide Insurance IMCA Modified feature, Jason Amidon led the first 7 laps before Kevan Cook took over the top spot. Once in the lead nobody had anything for Cook as he went on to his second win of the year. Point leader Ryan Scott, Rich Keller, Jason Amidon and Chris Fleming rounded out the top-five. Rob Keller, Dan Searles, Becca Eastman, Jeremy Lacoe and Mike Jones completed the top-ten.

Points leader Sterling Miller led the opening 4 laps before Joe Garafolo, who started twelfth grabbed the lead. Once in the lead Garafolo was able to go onto his second win of the 2012 season. Sterling Miller, Russ Brown, Josh DeSantis and Mike Mullen rounded out the top-five.

Zak Petrie was able to wrestle the lead away from Tim Dunn on lap 8 in the 15 lap Anchor Bar & Grill Four Cylinder Super Stock feature. Once in the lead Petrie out ran Chuck Powelczyk, Jessica Redhead, Tim Dunn and Chad Dupra to the checkers.

Chris Bonoffski won the the One-On-One Spectator races.

This coming Friday June 1, the Nationwide Insurance IMCA Modifieds will take center stage as they will run the Dean Hubbs Memorial. Also on the race card will be the Tracey Road Equipment Big Block Modifieds, Beaver River Distribution Mod Lites and Anchor Bar & Grill Four Cylinder Super Stocks.

Gates will open Friday at 5:30 with the first green flag to wave at 7:30. Adult grandstand admission will be $12 with everyone 18 years old and younger admitted FREE to the grandstands. Pit admission will be $27 competitors/$30 for non-competitors.

As the calendar moves towards summer don’t forget to mark on your calendar, Wednesday, July 18 as the 410 Sprint cars will be making their first ever historic visit to the “D-Shaped Dirt Demon”. The UNOH All-Star Sprints will invade the Brewerton Speedway.

Any questions about the season please contact Cory Reed at (315) 638-4056 or by e-mail at [email protected] with all your questions.

Keep up with the tracks throughout the season by visiting and, on each speedway’s Facebook accounts and on Twitter at and

(TRACEY ROAD EQUIPMENT BIG BLOCK MODIFIEDS 35 LAPS) – BILLY DECKER, Mike Mahaney, Tim Sears Jr., Ryan Phelps, Matt Sheppard, Matt Fink, Matt Hulsizer, Peter Britten, Jimmy Phelps, Tony Steiner, Larry Wight, Rich Scagliotta, Mike Bowman, Dan Vauter, Chris Hile, Jim Witko Jr., Roy Bresnahan, Alan Johnson, Pat Ward, Willy Decker, Robbie Bellinger, Steve Hulsizer, Chuck Bower, Joe August Jr., Ryan Bartlett, Rich Townsend, DNS Chad Phelps.

(NATIONWIDE INSURANCE IMCA MODIFIEDS 20 LAPS) – KEVEN COOK, Rich Keller, Jason Amidon, Chris Fleming, Rob Keller, Dan Searles, Becca Eastman, Jeremy Lacoe, Mike Jones, Brian Van Tassell, John West, Andy Kieffer.

(BEAVER RIVER DISTRIBUTION MOD LITES 20 LAPS) – JOE GARAFOLO, Sterling g Miller, Russ Brown, Josh DeSantis, Mike Mullen, Lowell Zehr, Sam Usborne, Terry Lapham, Rob Grzelka, Ricky Yelle, Zach Babcock, Lane Bush, Bruce Brodel, Kelly Skinner, Lorrie Herbert, Cody Fleming, Justin Williams, Ryan Blackburn, Gary Sampo, Nick Graziano, Joe Isabell, Gary Jeffries, John Behron, Jim Bogett, Brian Johnson, Jeff Isabell.

(ANCHOR BAR & GRILL FOUR CYLINDER SUPER STOCK 15 LAPS) – ZAK PETRIE, Chuck Powelczyk, Jessica Redhead, Tim Dunn, Chad Dupra, Colby Herzog, Jeff Herbert, Sam Curcie, Bill Root, Bill Carista, Stephanie Seeley, Richard Leahey, Dan Dupra.