Bond Takes SBS Checkers, Cliff Earns Crown at Oswego

Photos – Jim Feeney

Mexico’s Mike Bond was the one earning a division-leading fourth small block supermodified feature win in Saturday night’s regular season finale at the Oswego Speedway, but it was David Cliff winning the 2016 SBS Championship.

Accidents and a few mechanical woes interrupted an otherwise outstanding season for the pilot of the No. 74. Bond would find victory lane four of the five times he finished in the top five. However, Cliff managed to finish no worse than seventh place all season, landing 9 top-five’s coupled with one win.

On Saturday night, Bond would race with Oswego’s Michael Bruce through the pack, until finally ditching him with seven laps to go, once the duo had reached the front of the field.

Listen to  – Mike Bond

Beating Barry Kingsley at the drop of the green, Jesse Bearup took the early lead. Kingsley’s No. 91 would stumble, backing up the outside lane. Starting on the inside of the fifth row, Bond would take advantage of the faster line and race his way up to fifth at the completion of lap No. 1.

Cliff and crew pose after winning Oswego's SBS track championship
Cliff and crew pose after winning Oswego’s SBS track championship

Alex McRae would bring out the first caution flag after spinning his No. 14 in turn No. 3. With just four laps in the books, Bearup led Kreig Heroth, Anthony Losurdo, Bruce and Bond. Camden Proud, Tyler Shullick, Matt Magner, Cliff and Jack Patrick filled out the top 10.

Losurdo would take second away from Heroth on the ensuing restart. Bruce and Bond would bump Heroth’s No. 04 back to fourth the next time by. Proud would knock Heroth out of the top five by the seventh lap.

Up front, Bearup would continue to pace the field. Lorsudo raced comfortably in second, while Bruce fended off challenges from Bond. At the halfway point, Losurdo would begin to move in on the race leader.

However, two laps later, Losurdo began to drop off the pace. Bruce and Bond pounced on the No. 1, taking over second and third place. One lap later, Losurdo would pull pitside.

Still in command, Bearup would not only need to fend off the two fastest cars on the speedway, but deal with incoming lapped traffic. Bruce would end up seizing an opportunity with the race leader navigating his way around the tail-end of the field. Bearup would leave an opening underneath his No. 37 after putting a car a lap down.

On their 20th circuit, Bruce would shoot to the inside and muscle his way underneath Bearup’s No. 37, taking the lead. Again, Bond would follow Bruce’s path, taking over second.

Glued to the race leader’s rear bumper, Bond would waste no time in pressing Bruce’s No. 22 for the race lead. On the 23rd lap, he would slide under the left-hand side of the race leader, taking the lead away in turn No. 1.

Bond and crew pose after earning their fourth win this season
Bond and crew pose after earning their fourth win this season

Bond would pull away and cruise on to victory.

Bruce would bring his No. 22 home in second. It was his sixth top-five finish of the year.

Listen to – Mike Bruce

Finishing seventh, Cliff would cruise to his second SBS track championship, his first with car owner, Tim Barbeau.

Listen to – David Cliff

Listen to – Tim Barbeau

Bearup would finish in third.

Listen to – Jesse Bearup

Proud and Shullick rounded out the top 10.

Pathfinder Bank SBS 30: 1. Mike Bond (74), 2. Michael Bruce (22), 3. Jesse Bearup (37), 4. Camden Proud (54), 5. Tyler Shullick (67), 6. Kreig Heroth (04), 7. Dave Cliff (50), 8. Jack Patrick (9), 9. Dalton Doyle (01), 10. Barry Kingsley (91), 11. Scott Shafer (76), 12, Cameron Rowe (77), 13. Greg O’Connor (90), 14. Bryan Haynes (86), 15. Alex McRae (14), 16. James Babcock (15), 17. Anthony Losurdo (1), 18. Matt Magner (87), 19. Josh Kerr (8), 20. Cameron Black (23), 21. Brad Haynes (88), 22. Mark Castiglia (69)

Heat race wins went to Bearup, Bond and Bruce.