Bring Old Tires to Transfer Stations June 14

FULTON – The Oswego County Department of Solid Waste will hold a Tire Amnesty Day on June 14 at the county transfer stations.

Normal tire disposal fees will be waived.

The event is sponsored by State Senator Patty Ritchie and the Oswego County Legislature to allow residents to safely dispose of unwanted tires and reduce mosquito-breeding habitats.

Residents can bring unwanted tires to the transfer stations between 8 a.m. and noon.

Oswego County transfer stations and recycling drop-off centers are located at Bristol Hill, 3125 NYS Route 3, Volney; 1167 County Route 7, Hannibal; 1391 U.S. Route 11, Hastings; 700 E. Seneca St., Oswego; and 100 County Route 2A, Pulaski.

“I’m pleased to once again partner with Oswego County to host these free tire disposal events and help residents take the necessary precautions to reduce the risks associated with exposure to mosquitoes,” said Senator Ritchie.

Frank Visser, Oswego County Solid Waste Director, said the county will accept up to eight tires per household at no charge to Oswego County residents.

Additional tires will be accepted but they must be weighed in on the transfer station scales.

There will be a $10 minimum fee for additional tires.

Tractor tires must be cut into quarters.

For more information, call the Department of Solid Waste at 591-9200, or visit

For more information on preventing the spread of EEE, West Nile, and other diseases carried by mosquitoes, visit