Go to ...
RSS Feed

September 20, 2018

Burridge Named ECAC Division III Upstate Player of the Year

CENTERVILLE, Mass. – The Eastern College Athletic Conference (ECAC) has announced that Oswego State senior forward Chad Burridge was voted ECAC Division III Upstate Player of the Year for the second consecutive season, while junior forward Hayden Ward was named to the ECAC Division III Upstate First Team.

Chad Burridge

Chad Burridge

Burridge (Hannibal, N.Y.) and Ward (Montauk, N.Y.) led the Lakers to the second round of the NCAA tournament with a program-best record of 26-4 and the program’s first conference championship since 1965.

Burridge averaged 16.8 points and 7.1 rebounds per game, while setting the school record in career blocked shots at 253. Ward posted 15.7 points and 9.1 rebounds per contest en route to 13 double-doubles.

Burridge has now received back-to-back SUNYAC Player of the Year, National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) East District Player of the Year, ECAC Division III Upstate Player of the Year, and First Team NABC All-America honors.

Hayden Ward

Hayden Ward

He was also named D3hoops.com East Region Player of the Year for the 2011-12 season.

ECAC All-Stars, Players of the Year and Rookies of the Year are eligible if selected as their primary conference’s award winner or all-conference first team selection.

The teams and major award winners are voted on by coaches – who were not permitted to vote for their own players – from the ECAC membership.

More Stories From Sports

%d bloggers like this: