Champions Crowned Opening Night At Brewerton

By Dave Medler
BREWERTON, NY  – When you looked back at the 2011 season at the Brewerton Speedway, it was a season to remember in the Tracey Road Equipment Big Block Modifieds. For years the “D-Shaped Dirt Demon” has been known to have one of the toughest fields of cars anywhere in the Northeast.

When the final checkered flag waved last October during the SUNY Canton Hurricane 100, a dozen drivers graced victory lane. Peter Britten became the first Australian to win a Big Block Modified feature in the United States.

Matt Sheppard, behind the wheel of FX Caprara Chevrolet/No.9s Bicknell, didn’t win the championship title till the final point’s night. Going into the final night it came down to Stewart Friesen, Jimmy Phelps and Sheppard to decide it all. Sheppard won the feature over Jimmy Phelps and the championship.

Feature winners in the historic season were, Matt Sheppard, Jimmy Phelps, Stewart Friesen, Billy Decker, Alan Johnson, Willy Decker, Chuck Bower, Rich Scagliotta, Matt Fink, Dale Planck, Peter Britten and Gary Tomkins.

A special presentation was made to Peter Britten on Friday night. Early this spring, the Britten family and the Modified world in Australia and the United States lost Peter’s father, Paul who passed away.

After Britten’s feature win last May, 6th, Paul asked track owner John Wight if he could have the Tracey Road Equipment Feature Winner Sign. It’s tradition in Australia for the winner to receive the sign after a hard fought feature win.

Track owner John Wight and promoter Harvey Fink made a presentation of the sign in memory of Paul Britten to take back home for Peter and his family.

Kevan Cook out of Constantia, NY was on rails in the Nationwide Insurance IMCA Modifieds racking up ten wins on his way to the track championship. The closest feature winner to Cook was Chris Fleming with four wins.

Dale Caswell was always quick racking up wins in the Nationwide Insurance IMCA Modifieds. And he is no different in the NAPA Late Models, as he received the championship trophy to add to his collection.

The Beaver River Distribution ESDCA Mod Lites average right around 30 cars on a weekly basis making it a tough championship to win. When the points were counted, Tim Devendorf won the title by 27 over Joe Isabell.

Total dominance is what comes to mind when you think of the 2011 season in the Anchor Bar & Grill Four Cylinder Super Stocks. The dominance was from Sauquoit’s Stephen Denton as he put his red No.44c Saab in victory lane ten times.


(TRACEY ROAD EQUIPMENT BIG BLOCK MODIFIEDS) – MATT SHEPPARD, Jimmy Phelps, Stewart Friesen, Billy Decker, Pat Ward, Alan Johnson, Ryan Phelps, Willy Decker, Larry Wight, Chuck Bower.

(NATIONWIDE INSURANCE IMCA MODIFIEDS) – KEVAN COOK, Brandon Carvey, Chris Fleming, Jason Amidon, Mike Jones, (Tied) Rich Keller-Rob Keller, John West, Becca Eastman, Josh Van Tassell.

(BEAVER RIVER DISTRIBUTION ESDCA MOD LITES) – TIM DEVENDORF, Joe Isabell, Mike Mullen, Jeff Isabell, Doug Williams, Joe Garafolo, Lowell Zehr, Sterling Miller, Rick Demo, Jeff Blackburn.

(ANCHOR BAR & GRILL FOUR CYLINDER SUPER STOCKS) – STEPHEN DENTON, Chuck Powelczyk, Keith Shay, Jim Money, Lorraine Powelczyk, Sam Curcie, Richard Leahey, Sam Carista, Wendall Washington, Bill Carista,

This coming Friday night, April, 27, Ferris Mowers presents an action packed night of racing action featuring , the Tracey Road Equipment Big Block Modifieds, Nationwide Insurance IMCA Modifieds, Beaver River Distribution ESDCA Mod Lites and Anchor Bar & Grill Four Cylinder Super Stocks.

Gates will open at 5:30 with the first green flag to wave at 7:30. Adult grandstand admission will be $12 with everyone 18 years old and younger admitted FREE to the grandstands.

Any questions about the new suites or upcoming season please contact Cory Reed at (315) 638-4056 or by e-mail at [email protected]om with all your questions.

Keep up with the tracks throughout the season by visiting and, on each speedway’s Facebook accounts and on Twitter at and