Championship Races Tighten Moving to Oswego Speedway’s Summer Championship

OSWEGO, NY – Oswego Speedway’s Summer Championship will take the main stage this Saturday, July 18, at the ‘Steel Palace,’ presented by C’s Beverage Center and CNY CPR.

Despite a dominant early season for Otto Sitterly, Bob Bond trails Sitterly by only 12.5 points heading into Saturday's Summer Championship.
Despite a dominant early season for Otto Sitterly, Bob Bond trails Sitterly by only 12.5 points heading into Saturday’s Summer Championship.

Despite Otto Sitterly’s recent dominance at the Speedway, the race for the Novelis Supermodified Driver’s Championship has actually tightened significantly heading into the final event for the month of July.

While Sitterly looked to be a shoe in victor in the Speedway’s Grand Prix 75 on July 4, a broken torque arm late in the going forced Sitterly pit side, handing the lead and eventual win over to championship rival Bob Bond in the Four Sevens No. 47.

Bond, a two-time winner of the Budweiser International Classic 200, would use his first victory of the season, along with four total top five finishes to move to within 12.5 points of Sitterly heading into the weekend.

To put 12.5 points in perspective, the difference between first and fourth position in a feature event – is 13 points.

Sitterly, the lead driver for John Nicotra’s Supermodified effort has a grand total of five Supermodified wins this season at Oswego after copping the ISMA Supermodified King of Wings VII main event last weekend driving for Jim Bodnar.  The ISMA victory was the first of Sitterly’s career.

While Bond and Sitterly now stand toe to toe in a race for the championship, young shoes Kody Graham and Dave Danzer remain within striking distance.

With only one top five finish on the year, Graham has scored consistently in the top ten putting him just 50.5 points behind Sitterly in the championship fight.  With a feature win as recently as last season, Graham is poised to make a run in the summer stretch driving the Xtreme Chassis No. 21.

Danzer, a three-time feature winner at the Speedway in 2014, sits just five points behind Graham in fourth position.  Other than Sitterly, there is no other driver that has been as consistent as Danzer, despite some setbacks to start the year.

Danzer has claimed top ten finishes in all six Supermodified main events this season, including one driving his back-up machine earlier this season.  The major difference between Danzer and Sitterly this season is simple, Danzer has only one top five finish on the year.

Once Danzer finds victory lane, the championship tilt could see a facelift as the No. 52 looks to defend its Mr. Supermodified crown on August 1.

Dave Gruel, Jeff Abold, Pat Lavery, Tim Snyder, Dan Connors Jr., Shaun Gosselin, and Brandon Bellinger all stand within 100 points of Sitterly heading into the weekend.

The Pathfinder Bank SBS standings once again saw a bit of a shakeup after July 4, with Mike Bond making a tremendous charge to only 12 points south of title leader Dalton Doyle.

An up and down season for Bond was erased two weeks ago as he scored his series leading second win of the season, thrusting him once again into title contention behind Doyle, who has been a threat for victory week in and week out.

Kreig Heroth, Mike Bruce, and Dave Cliff finish the top five in the series standings heading to July 18 all within just 33 points of the championship lead.

Andrew Schartner, Camden Proud, Anthony Losurdo, Jack Patrick, and JJ Andrews are the top ten just 54 points off the top of the charts, making the race for the SBS championship wide open.

The Summer Championship on July 18 is once again a Price Chopper Tickets to Go event with tickets available at any Price Chopper Supermarkets location for only $14.  As always kids 16 and under are free with a paid adult.

Grandstand gates will open on July 18 with the beginning of hot laps at 4 p.m. Racing will go green at 6:30 p.m.

For more information on Oswego Speedway visit online at or like on Facebook at or follow on Twitter @OswegoSpeedway.  Those interested in Speedway video programming online can subscribe to the Speedway’s YouTube Channel, ‘OswegoSpeedwayOnline’

To purchase tickets for the 2015 racing season call the Speedway box office at (315) 342-0646.

2015 Oswego Speedway – Novelis – Hoosier Tire – SUNOCO

Supermodified Driver’s Championship

POS.   ##     DRIVER        PTS.

1        7        OTTO SITTERLY****        495.5

2        47      BOB BOND*                     483

3        21      KODY GRAHAM                 445

4        52      DAVE DANZER                  440

5        50      DAVE GRUEL*                  424

6        O5      JEFF ABOLD                      417

7        22      PAT LAVERY                     416

8        0        TIM SNYDER                     402

9        O1      DAN CONNORS                 401.5

10      26      SHAUN GOSSELIN             401

2015 Oswego Speedway – Pathfinder Bank – Hoosier Tire – SUNOCO

Small Block Supermodified Driver’s Championship

POS.   ##     DRIVER        PTS.

1        O1      DALTON DOYLE*              471

2        74      MIKE BOND**                   459

3        O4      KREIG HEROTH                 457

4        22      MIKE BRUCE                     449

5        50      DAVE CLIFF                      438

6        18      ANDREW SCHARTNER       435

7        54      CAMDEN PROUD               435

8        1        ANTHONY LOSURDO*       430

9        9        JACK PATRICK                  424

10      93      JJ ANDREWS                    417