Christian Unity Supper Features Refugee Ministry

FULTON, NY – On May 13, the Greater Fulton Area Council of Christian Churches will gather for its annual Christian Unity Supper.

Deb Virgo
Deb Virgo

The event will begin at 6 p.m. and will be hosted by All Saints Episcopal Church,
Academy and South First streets.

Everyone is asked to bring a dish to pass.

Hot and cold drinks and table service will be provided by the host congregation.

The dessert will also be provided.

Members of the greater Fulton community are most welcome to attend.

Rev. Mark Kimpland of First United Methodist Church, and Rev. Joseph Kim of State Street United Methodist Church, will be recognized for their years of pastoral ministry in the Fulton community.

Both pastor will be accepting new church assignments this summer.

The program will feature Deb Virgo, director of The Center for New Americans Refugee Resettlement Program, a ministry within Inter-Faith Works of Central New York based in Syracuse.

According to Virgo, Refugee Resettlement handles the task of creating a new home for a family that often arrives with only the clothes on their back and the items that they can carry in a suitcase.

This is accomplished by assisting refugees with a variety of needs such as arranging for housing, furnishings, food, enrolling adults in English classes and children in school, ensuring that necessary medical care is received; finding employment and providing help in understanding US workplace culture.

Virgo has asked that each one in attendance bring one or more pairs of brand new sox as a contribution to the ministry.

The Greater Fulton Area Council of Christian Churches is made up of member congregations who support ecumenical programs, including the annual Good Friday Cross Walk, the Michaud Memorial Service, and the very successful annual CROP WALK which raises funds for world hunger, and for local food pantries.

This year’s CROP Walk is scheduled for October 6.

For further information about this year’s activities, please contact the Council of Churches president, Rev. David Nethercott (592-2707 / [email protected]).