Chuck Bower Becomes the Tenth Different Big Block Modified Feature Winner at the Brewerton Speedway

By Dave Medler

BREWERTON,NY – And the streak continues at the Brewerton Speedway as Chuck Bower out of Lansing, NY became the tenth different winner in ten Tracey Road Equipment Big Block Modified features run in the 2011 season at the Brewerton Speedway. Bower grabbed the lead at the drop of the green of the 35 lap feature and dominated till a late yellow with 3 laps to go to bunch the field up. Over the final laps Bower pulled away from current point’s leader Stewart Friesen for his first win since the 2004 season.

Other winners on Chandler Automotive Night were, Kevan Cook Nationwide Insurance IMCA Modifieds, Jeff Isabell Sr. Beaver River Distribution ESDCA Mod Lites and Chuck Powelczyk made it two in a row in the Four Cylinder Super Stocks.

Chuck Bower and Chad Phelps led the Tracey Road Equipment Big Block Modified field down to Dave Farney’s green flag with Bower gaining the early advantage in the 35 lap feature.

With 10 laps complete, Bower built up a ten car length advantage over Ted Lamb with Chad Phelps running alone in 3rd and Ryan Phelps and Dan Vauter fighting for top-five spots.

By lap 15 Bower led by a half a straightaway running the cushion as Lamb tried to keep the leader in sight. Chad Phelps and Ryan Phelps ran nose to tail and side by side for 3rd with point leader Stewart Friesen now in the top-five.

On lap 20 Bower was still setting a quick pace as he started catching back markers with Lamb trying to close in as Bower started putting cars a lap down. Behind the top-two, Ryan Phelps, Friesen and Chad Phelps in his new Troyer showed on the scoring tower.

With 10 laps to go Bower was still on rails building up a full straightaway lead and looked to be heading for the win when a yellow he didn’t want to see flew with 3 laps to go putting current point leader Friesen on Bower’s back bumper.

Over the final laps Bower wasn’t going to be denied as he pulled away from Friesen for his first Brewerton win since the 2004 season. Stewart Friesen, Matt Sheppard, Ted Lamb and Ryan Phelps rounded out the top-five.

“I’ve been around sports my whole life, from playing them as a kid, from teaching them as a coach, to watching them and you never give up. I know I can do this stuff, “ said a relieved and excited Chuck Bower after doing a roof dance on his mainly self-financed, Ingles Performance, No.99B.

“We just keep digging; I knew this car wasn’t good, we couldn’t get a handle on the tires. One got away from us last week. My left front is flat, but it was meant to be tonight. I’ve lost a lot of races in lapped traffic. I kept digging, I didn’t know what was going to happen at the end,” Bower talking about the late yellow that erased his big lead. “The field is like we talked, the best in the business. I could go anywhere on Friday night and Saturday night. I’d rather race against the best and win against the best.”

In the 20 lap Nationwide Insurance IMCA Modified Feature “Domination” was the word for Kevan Cook. Cook took the lead on lap 3 and was never challenged winning by almost a half a track at the checkers. Ryan Scott, Brandon Carvey, Mike Jeffries and Josh Van Tassell rounded out the top-five.

Jeff Isabell Sr. and Joe Isabell were the show in the 20 lap Beaver River Distribution ESDCA Mod Lite Feature. The Father and Son fought for the win over the entire second half of the feature with Jeff picking up the narrow win over Joe. Doug Williams, Tim Devendorf and Andrew Schartner finished third through fifth.

Chuck Powelczyk wasn’t going to be denied in the 15 lap Metalico Four Cylinder Super Stock Feature. After taking the lead on lap 2 from his 10th starting spot, eight-time feature winner Stephen Denton took the lead away from Powelczyk in heavy traffic with one lap to go. Powelczyk used the same lapped traffic to bottle up Denton and retake the lead and the narrow win over Denton. Scott Rothwell, Keith Shay and Wendall Washington chased the top-two across the line.

This coming Friday July 8th Syracuse Haulers presents another night of racing action on the “D-Shaped Dirt Demon” featuring the Tracey Road Equipment Big Block Modifieds, Nationwide Insurance IMCA Modifieds, Beaver River Distribution ESDCA Mod Lites and the Metalico Four Cylinder Super Stocks.

Gates will open at 5:30 with racing starting at 7:30. Adult grandstand admission will be $12 with everyone 18 years old and younger admitted free to the grandstand.

Don’t forget to follow Fulton Speedway on Facebook and on Twitter at Brewerton Speedway is also active on both Facebook and Twitter at Please call Cory Reed at 315-668-6906 or [email protected] with any questions.

(TRACEY ROAD EQUIPMENT BIG BLOCK MODIFIEDS 35 LAPS) – CHUCK BOWER, Stewart Friesen, Matt Sheppard, Ted Lamb, Ryan Phelps, Pat Ward, Willy Decker, Chad Phelps, Matt Fink, Larry Wight, Dan Vauter, Pat O’Brien, Alan Johnson, Mike Bowman, Jimmy Davis, Tony Steiner, Mike Mahaney, Rich Scagliotta, Jimmy Phelps, Jim Witko Jr., Billy Decker.

(NATIONWIDE INSURANCE IMCA MODIFIEDS 20 LAPS) – KEVAN COOK, Ryan Scott, Brandon Carvey, Mike Jeffries, Josh Van Tassell, Rick Miller, Jason Amidon, Glen Erwin, John West, Mike Jones, Becca Eastman, Andy Keiffer, Rob Keller, Jeff Amidon, Rich Keller, Chris Fleming, Wayne Wideman, JJ Courcy.

(BEAVER RIVER DISTRIBUTION ESDCA MOD LITES 20 LAPS) – JEFF ISABELL SR., Joe Isabell, Doug Williams, Tim Devendorf, Andrew Schartner, Joe Garafolo, Gary Jeffries, Jeff Blackburn, Mike Mullen, Clayton Brewer III, Lowell Zehr, Sterling Miller, Justin Crisafulli, Russ Brown, Sam Usborne, Lisa Thomas, Ricky Yelle, Kelly Skinner, Kyle Fink, Frank Sobotka, Lane Bush, Jamie King, Rick Demo, Jim Boget, Rob Grezelka, Josh DeSantis Jr., Jeremy Isabell, Cody Fleming.

(METALICO FOUR CYLINDER SUPER STOCKS 15 LAPS) – CHUCK POWELCZYK, Stephen Denton, Scott Rothwell, Keith Shay, Wendall Washington, Lorriane Powelczyk, Bill Carista, Colby Herzog, Ray Herzog, Jerry Curcie Jr., Bradley Stowell, Richard Leahey, Jake Gagnon, Eric Gates Jr., Sam Carista, Sam Curcie, Corie Locke, Rolland Fiske, Matt Fay, Doug Elkins.