City Voters Pick Mayors, But Most Have Few Choices This Election Day

Voters will elect mayors in Oswego County’s two cities today, but across the county, voters will have few choices for their representatives on the county Legislature.  Only 6 out of 25 Legislature seats have contested races.  The rest have candidates who are running unopposed.

Voters will also choose a new District Attorney to replace retiring DA Donald Dodd.  Dodd’s deputy, Greg Oakes, holds the Republican and Conservative lines on the ballot.  Tina Bennet is running on the Working Families Party line.

There is also a regional contest for State Supreme Court Justice.  Four Democrats, four Republicans and a Conservative are vying for four seats.

You can see a sample ballot here.


Oswego voters choose a new Mayor today.  Randy Bateman chose not to run for reelection, ending a term that saw him stabilize city politics after the conviction of then-Mayor John Gosek on sex-related charges.

Voters will choose between Tom Gillen, endorsed by the Democratic and Conservative parties, and Dave White, the Republican candidate.

There will be three new faces on the Common Council in 2011.  Council members Connie Cosemento, Catherine Santos and William Sharkey chose not to run for reelection.

The choices:

1st Ward

D Francis Enwright
R,C,I,Oth Brenda Rice

2nd Ward

R,C,I,Oth Michael R. Myers (incumbent)

3rd Ward

D Michael T. Johnson
R,I Michael E. Todd

4th Ward

D David Michael Sugar
R,C,I,Oth Shawn Walker (incumbent)

5th Ward

R Daniel Donovan (incumbent)

6th Ward

D,Oth Eric I. Vanburen
R,I,Oth Stephen Loadwick

7th Ward

R,C,I Ronald T. Kaplewicz (incumbent)

Only one of the city’s county Legislature races is contested.  Democrat Jake Mulcahey and Republican George Reed are seeking the 15th district seat.


The three-way race for Mayor is the top race in Fulton.

Incumbent Republican Ron Woodward is cross-endorsed this year by the Democrats, who are otherwise running a large slate of candidates.  Common Council member Tom Kenyon is running as the Conservative Party’s choice, while newcomer Ralph Stacy, Jr. has waged an energetic campaign as an independent.

The Common Council will have a new look come January.  Three members — Kenyon, Daryl Hayden and Kim Roy — are not running for reelection.  Two of the three incumbents face challenges.  Only 2nd Ward Democrat Dan Knopp is unopposed.

1st Ward Alderman

R,C,Oth Alan M. Emrich
I Ryan M. Woodward

2nd Ward

D Daniel Knopp, Jr. (incumbent)

3rd Ward

D,Oth Peter S. Franco (incumbent)
R,I Timothy Crandell

4th Ward

D,Oth Carmella Carm Cavallaro
R Dana V. Smith

5th Ward

D,Oth Audrey L. Avery
R,Oth Norman J. Foster (incumbent)

6th Ward

D,I,Oth Lawrence E. Macner
R Johnathan D. Weldin

Several County Legislature seats in and around Fulton are being challenged this year.

Granby incumbent Morris Sorbello is facing a rematch against Michael French, a former legislator.  Fulton Republican Mark Fruce is being challenged by Democrat Dan Farfaglia.  Fulton Republican James Karasek has two challengers: Democrat Wes Belcher and independent Ernesto Garcia.  East side Republican Louella LeClair is unopposed.


Two other County Legislature races are contested.

Hannibal incumbent Terry Wilbur faces Democrat Judy Walsh, and Town of Oswego Democratic incumbent Doug Malone faces Republican Joseph Susino.

15 of 22 towns will reelect their current Town Supervisors because they are running unopposed.  Longtime Oswego Town Supervisor Vicky Mullen is being challenged by Jeff Wallace.  A political fixture in Hannibal politics for many years, Allen deMey, is coming out of retirement to challenge incumbent Supervisor Ron Greenleaf.  And Schroeppel’s volatile political scene features a three-way race for Supervisor among Democrat Michael Lattimore, Republican Patrick Nugent and Conservative Paul Casler, Jr.