County Recognizes Youth Court Month

Youth Court Month
Youth Court Month

OSWEGO – The Oswego County Legislature’s Human Services Committee presented a proclamation designating September as Youth Court Month.

Youth courts empower young people to help each other through constructive peer pressure and accountability.

The program helps youth develop leadership, problem-solving and decision-making skills that will enable them to become positive contributors in the community.

Pictured from left in front row are Oswego City Youth Court Coordinator Kristen Slimmer; Oswego City Youth Court Coordinator Sam Crisafulli; Bailey Otter; Presley Slimmer; Elyse Maniccia; Claudia Chetney; Ruhma Khawaja; Nolan Callahan; Drucilla Biela; Marisa Barber; Dalton Megnin; Noah Hosier; Zach Demott; Miah Metott; Zachary Metott; Ethan Locastro; Alex Chetney; Caleb Frost; Cody Lawson; and Oswego County Youth Bureau Director Brian Chetney. Pictured from left in the back row are legislators Thomas Drumm, District 16; Committee Chairman Daniel LeClair, District 8; Shane Broadwell, District 17; Marie C. Schadt, District 19; Committee Vice Chairman Tim Stahl, District 25; Heather DelConte, District 18; and John Proud, District 7.