Dale Planck Picks Up The Win In The Tracey Road Equipment Big Block Modifieds At The Brewerton Speedway

BREWERTON, NY – May 13, 2011(By Dave Medler) -Dale Planck in the Twin Leaf 77x, Bicknell came into the night still on the mend from a broken sternum from a Late Model crash a couple weeks ago at the Lernerville Speedway. On Friday night he got the best medicine the doctor could order as he picked up the 35 lap Tracey Road Equipment Big Block Modified victory at the Brewerton Speedway. Planck grabbed the lead from race long-leader Ted Lamb on lap 19 after a restart and then outdistanced Billy Decker for the popular win.

Other winners on WOLF 105.1 New Country Night were, Dale Caswell NAPA Late Models, Chris Fleming Nationwide Insurance IMCA Modifieds, Doug Williams Beaver River Distribution ESDCA Mod Lites and Stephen Denton remained unbeaten in the Metalico Four-Cylinder Super Stocks.

Ted Lamb outraced the 25 car starting field to lead the opening lap of the 35 lap Tracey Road Equipment Big Block Modified Feature as Dan Vauter ran in Lambs tire tracks.

With 5 laps showing on the scoring tower, Lamb and Vauter broke away from the field in a two-car battle for the lead. Tony Steiner, Rich Scagliotta and Chad Phelps battled for third through fifth as they tried to keep the leaders in sight.

By lap 10 Lamb opened a half a straightaway lead as Scagliotta had moved into the runner-up spot, Ryan Bartlett, Vauter and Alan Johnson showed on the scoring tower in the top-five.

When starter Dave Farney gave the field the halfway sign, Lamb hugging the extreme inside of the speedway opened a full straightaway lead before a yellow flew erasing the huge advantage Lamb had built up.

On the restart Dale Planck who seemed to find bite on the top of the speedway shot by Lamb to be scored the new leader on the 19th trip around the “D-Shaped Dirt Demon”.

With 10 laps to go Planck was pulling away from Lamb who was still having his best run of the season, Scagliotta, Matt Sheppard and Bartlett ran side by side and nose to tail for third through fifth.

Over the remaining laps Planck was able to hold off a fast closing Billy Decker who started last from the 25th position for the win. Scagliotta, Sheppard and Bartlett rounded out the top-five. Larry Wight, Stewart Friesen, Lamb, Pat O’Brien and Chuck Bower completed the top-ten.

In the 20 lap NAPA Late Model feature, Dale Caswell grabbed the lead early on and held off Tim Sears Jr. for his first win of the year at the Brewerton Speedway. Gordy Button, AJ Kingsley and Alan Fink rounded out the top-five.

Jim Bogett led the opening 14 laps of the 20 lap Beaver River Distribution ESDCA Mod Lite feature before giving-up the lead to Doug Williams who went on to win his 37th Mod Lite feature. Sam Morse, Jim Bogett, Joe Isabell and Sterling Miller rounded out the top-five.

In the most exciting feature of the night Rob Keller who was making his first run of the 2011season in the Nationwide Insurance IMCA Modifieds took the lead on lap-four and looked to be heading to win, but Kevan Cook was able run down Keller and grab the lead on the 18th lap and seemed to have the race in hand. Chris Fleming had other ideas as he was able to find the power he needed exiting turn four coming down to the checkers for the half a car length win. For Fleming it was his third win in four races at the Brewerton Speedway this season.

Chuck Powelczyk and Stephen Denton had a battle royal in the 15 lap Metalico Four-Cylinder Super Stocks main. The pair not only battled each other but lapped traffic. It was the lapped traffic that made the difference as Denton was able to get by Powelczyk late in the going for his fourth straight win. Powelczyk, Doug Elkins, Keith Shay and Jim Money rounded out the top-five.

For a longtime, fans and competitors alike have wanted to see the Sportsman at the Brewerton Speedway. That wait is over as this Friday, May 20th and for the immediate future the Sportsman will be part of the show replacing the NAPA Late Models. The rules will mirror the Fulton Speedway rules. There will be a burn up period for Sportsman teams who still have Hoosier tires.

After a meeting with the Late Model competitors and speedway staff, all were in agreement to concentrate on the Fulton Speedway to further the NAPA Late Models. Marketing Director Cory Reed related the class will have future dates to be determined.

Also on the race card this Friday on Colosse Cheese Night will be the Tracey Road Equipment Big Block Modifieds, Nationwide Insurance IMCA Modifieds , Beaver River Distribution ESDCA Mod Lites and Metalico Four-Cylinder Super Stocks.

Wix Filters will also be part of the race program as they will have “Wix Filters 100 Nights Of Racing Bonus”. Each feature winner will receive $100 gift certificates for WIX filters plus a Wix hat and shirt. There will also be fan giveaways throughout the night.

Gates will open Friday, May 20th at 5:30 with racing starting at 7:30. Adult grandstand admission will be $12 with everyone 18 years old and younger admitted free to the grandstand.

Don’t forget to follow Fulton Speedway on Facebook and on Twitter at twitter.com/Fultonspeedway. Brewerton Speedway is also active on both Facebook and Twitter at twitter.com/BrewertonSpdway). Please call Cory Reed at 315-668-6906 or [email protected] with any questions.

(TRACEY ROAD EQUIPMENT BIG BLOCK MODIFIEDS 35 LAPS) -DALE PLANCK, Billy Decker, Rich Scagliotta, Matt Sheppard, Ryan Bartlett, Larry Wight, Stewart Friesen, Ted Lamb, Pat O’Brien, Chuck Bower, Ryan Phelps, Jimmy Phelps, Matt Fink, Alan Johnson, Pat Ward, Jim Davis, Peter Britten, Dan Vauter, Jason Rood, Brian Murphy, Tony Steiner, Chad Phelps, Mike Bowman, Willy Decker, Jim Witko. DNS-Mike Mahaney.

(BEAVER RIVER DISTRIBUTION ESDCA MOD LITES 20 LAPS) – DOUG WILLIAMS, Sam Morse, Jim Bogett, Joe Isabell, Sterling Miller, Ricky Yelle, Jeremy Isabell, Rick Demo, Terry Lapham, Joe Garafalo, Jeff Blackburn, Sam Usborne, Rob Grzelka, Cole Smith, Lowell Zehr, Jessica Herbert, Lorrie Herbert, Lane Push, Mike Mullen, Nick Graziano, Gary Jeffries, Jeff Isabell Jr, Clayton Brewer III, Tim Devendorf, Jeff Herbert, Cody Fleming, Dave Trytek.

(NAPA LATE MODELS 20 LAPS) – DALE CASWELL, Tim Sears Jr, Gordy Button, AJ Kingsley, Alan Fink, Dave Talbot, Shayne Tenace, Brandon Kidd, Steven Coit, Jim Southard, Harry Halliday.

(NATIONWIDE INSURANCE IMCA MODIFIEDS 20 LAPS) – CHRIS FLEMING, Kevan Cook, Brandon Carvey, JJ Courcy, Josh Van Tassell, Becca Eastman, Gregg Kimball, Rob Keller, Mike Jones, John West, Lou LeVea, Rich Keller, Jeff Amidon, Jason Amidon.

(METALICO FOUR-CYLINDER SUPER STOCKS 15 LAPS) – STEPHEN DENTON, Chuck Powelczyk, Doug Elkins, Keith Shay, Jim Money, Lorraine Powelczyk, Wendall Washington, Corie Locke, Colby Herzog, Bill Carista, Sam Curcie, Richard Leahey, Jake Gagon, DNS Sam Carista, Art Dupra.