Danzer, Bond Lead Oswego Speedway’s Open Practice Speeds

Dave Danzer (52) led Oswego Speedway's Novelis Supermodified practice speeds on Saturday afternoon.

Dave Danzer (52) led Oswego Speedway's Novelis Supermodified practice speeds on Saturday afternoon.

OSWEGO, NY – Under beautiful blue skies, over 40 racecars took to Oswego Speedway for its annual open practice session on Saturday afternoon with Dave Danzer and Mike Bond leading the charge in the Novelis Supermodified and Pathfinder Bank SBS divisions.

Dave Danzer (52) led Oswego Speedway's Novelis Supermodified practice speeds on Saturday afternoon.
Dave Danzer (52) led Oswego Speedway’s Novelis Supermodified practice speeds on Saturday afternoon.

A total of 13 different Novelis Supermodified drivers were on hand with 15 different machines on site, including three racers for seven-time track champion Otto Sitterly.

Despite having three machines at his disposal, Sitterly was narrowly edged for the fastest Novelis Supermodified time of the afternoon by defending Mr. Novelis Supermodified, Danzer.

Danzer drove his No. 52 machine to a lap of 16.509 seconds on Saturday, just beating out Sitterly’s time of 16.563 seconds.

The only other Supermodified under the 17-second bracket was Pat Lavery in the No. 22, cutting a circuit of 16.996 seconds.

Several Supermodifieds were on hand including Dan Connors Jr., Brandon Bellinger, Dave Cliff, Tim Devendorf, Stephen Gioia III, Shaun Gosselin, Lou LeVea Jr. and Sr., Brian Sobus as well as rookie contender Aric Iosue.

Iosue took several sessions on the Speedway in the No. 11, eventually working to the low 18 second bracket, his first time in the racecar.

The 15 Novelis Supermodifieds were also joined by three ISMA Supermodifieds.

Alison Cumens, Dave McKnight, and Danzer all had wing cars on hand.

Danzer never made it onto the Speedway, while Cumens cut the day’s fastest lap at 15.577 seconds.

More than 20 Pathfinder Bank SBS were in the pit area, and it was multi-time champion Mike Bond blistering the Speedway in his brand new Four Sevens Motorsports No. 74 with a lap of 18.679 seconds.

The lap was just a tenth of a second from the SBS track record.

Kreig Heroth was the only other driver under 19 seconds, piloting the No. 04 to a lap of 18.872 seconds.

The Speedway will open for racing on May 9 with the 65th annual opening night presented by Planet Fitness and Mitchell’s Speedway Press.

The night will feature the lid lifters for the Novelis Supermodifieds and the Pathfinder Bank SBS as well as the RoC Modified Richie Evans Memorial 75.

Racing will begin on May 9 at 5 p.m., with kids 16 and under free.

For more information on Oswego Speedway be sure to visit www.oswegospeedway.com

You can also follow on Twitter @OswegoSpeedway and like on Facebook at www.facebook.com/OswegoSpeedway

Pathfinder Bank SBS:
04 – Kreig Heroth
07 – Justin Connell
1 – Anthony Losurdo
7 – Alex Hoag
8 – Josh Kerr
9 – Jack Patrick
13 – Russ Brown
14 – Alex McRae ®
18 – Russ Brown
22 – Mike Bruce
44 – Zach Amo
54 – Camden Proud ®
67 – Mike Bond/Anthony Losurdo
71 – Ray Sand Jr. ®
74 – Mike Bond
87 – Matt Magner
88 – Ron Pratt ®
91 – Barry Kingsley
93 – JJ Andrews
97 – Jeremy Pitcher

Novelis Supermodifieds:
01 – Dan Connors Jr.
02 – Brandon Bellinger
06 – Dave Cliff
5 – Tim Devendorf
7 – Otto Sittlerly
9 – Stephen Gioia III
11 – Aric Iosue ®
22 – Pat Lavery
26 – Shaun Gosselin
52 – Dave Danzer
79 – Brian Sobus
83 – Lou LeVea Jr.
96 – Lou LeVea Sr.

ISMA Supermodifieds:
39 – Alison Cumens
70 – Dave McKnight
52 – Dave Danzer