Decker Sweeps Weekend With Fulton Speedway Modified Win, Reis Wins $1,000 To Win SUNY Canton Sportsman Special

By Dave Medler
FULTON, NY – Friday night at the Brewerton Speedway, Willy Decker out of Vernon, NY brought out his own Come Race With Us. Com, No.1x and picked up the victory. Saturday night at the Fulton Speedway, Decker once again parked his mount in victory lane for the weekend sweep.

Decker took the lead from Chuck Bower on lap 10 and then out ran Larry Wight and the rest of the field for the exciting win.

Bob Reis out of Elma, NY picked the right night to win his first SUNY Canton Sportsman race. Thanks to Industrial Tire Of CNY putting up extra money for heat wins and finishing spots in the 20 lap feature. Reis picked up a $1,000 for his victory.

Other winners on Syracuse Haulers night were, Tim Sears Jr. NAPA Late Models, Kyle Fink, E & V Energy Novice Sportsman, Gary Jeffries, Mod Lites and Skip DeGroff Parts Plus Four Cylinder Stocks.

Chuck Bower and Shane Donath led the Tracey Road Equipment Big Block Modifieds down to the green with Bower grabbing the early advantage in the 35 lap feature.

On lap 5, Bower held a slight advantage running the extreme bottom; Willy Decker ran the top with Larry Wight right there for a three way battle for the top spot. Joe August Jr. and Matt Fink showed in the top-five.

Decker hounded Bower for the next few laps, finally working his way by Bower on lap 10 to be scored the new leader of the race.

With 15 laps showing on the scoring tower, Decker switched to the bottom lane as Wight started diamonding off the corners in pursuit of Decker. Bower, August and Fink ran third through fifth.

By lap 20 Decker built-up a half a straightaway lead over Wight, Bower ran alone in third, with August, Mike Mahaney and Billy Decker in a tight fight for third through sixth.

With 10 laps to go Decker was still setting a quick pace as Wight switched to the bottom still trying to cut into Decker’s lead as the laps clicked off. Bower, Mahaney and Decker still ran in a tight pack for position.

Over the remaining laps nobody had anything for Decker, as he was the first under the checkers. Larry Wight, Chuck Bower, Billy Decker and Mike Mahaney rounded out the top-five. Pat Ward, Ryan Phelps, Matt Fink, Jim Witko Jr. and Matt Hulsizer completed the top-ten.

“This is great, this is the first time we ever got two in row,” said a happy Willy Decker after winning both the Brewerton and Fulton Speedways features in consecutive nights. “My hats off to all these guys who help out on the car. The car was great the last two nights, we really didn’t do that much, it’s just super, it’s really great to be here.”

Thanks to Industrial Tire Of CNY the SUNY Canton Sportsman ran for $1,000 to win their feature with extra cash added to other top finishing spots. Plus each heat race winner received $100.

In the feature, Bob Reis grabbed the lead on lap 4 as he hoped to run away and hide. Over the second half of the race Reis, Earl Rudy and Greg Mrzywka would put on an exciting show.Reis and Rudy would swap the lead back and forth with Mrzywka right there that left the winner in doubt till the checkers.

On lap 14 Reis and Mrzywka would make incidental contact going for the lead into turn one with Mrzywka suffering race ending damage

On lap 16, Rudy retook the lead from Reis running the cushion and looked to be headed for the win till a late caution changed all that with two laps to go. On the restart, Reis who ran the bottom the whole race was able to shoot by Rudy on the white flag lap and then out run Rudy to his first ever Fulton Speedway win. Earl Rudy, Greg Kimball, Gregg Carner and Dave Emmons rounded out the top-five.

$100 heat winners were, Bob Reis, Jason Occhino and Greg Kimball.

In the 15 lap NAPA Late Model feature, Tim Sears Jr. took the led on lap 3 and never looked back out running Larry Wight to the finish. Jason Parkhurst, Steve Coit and A.J Kingsley rounded out the top-five.

Kyle Fink brought out his own car for the first time in 2012 in the E&V Energy Novice Sportsman and put it in victory lane. Gary Hoppins, Nick Krause, Kris Van Norstrand and Brandon Ford finished second through fifth.

In the 15 entertaining 15 lap Mod Lite feature Gary Jeffries took the lead on lap 6 and then held off a tough field the rest of the way for the win. Josh DeSantis, Jeff Isabell Jr., Mike Mullen and Sterling Miller chased Jeffries across the line.

Skip DeGroff led the entire distance of the 15 lap Parts Plus Four Cylinder Stock feature over Keith Zirbel, Eric M Zirbel, Chris Bonoffski and Colby Herzog.

This coming Saturday night May 26 spend part of your Memorial Day Weekend with us as Ehrlich Pest Control presents the Memorial Day Salute to kick off the summer racing season. On the race card will be the Tracey Road Equipment Big Block Modifieds, SUNY Canton Sportsman, NAPA Late Models, E&V Energy Novice Sportsman and Parts Plus Four Cylinder Stocks.

Gates will open at 5:00 with racing at 7:00. Adult grandstand admission will be $12 with everyone 18 years old and younger admitted FREE to the grandstand. Pit admission will be $27 for competitors/$30 non-competitors.

Any questions about the season please contact Cory Reed at (315) 638-4056 or by e-mail at [email protected] for all your questions.

Keep up with the tracks throughout the season by visiting and, on each speedway’s Facebook accounts and on Twitter at and

(TRACEY ROAD EQUIPMENT BIF BLOCK MODIFIEDS 35 LAPS) – WILLY DECKER, Larry Wight,  Chuck Bower, Billy Decker, Mike Mahaney, Pat Ward, Ryan Phelps, Matt Fink, Jim Witko Jr., Matt Hulsizer, Tom sears Jr., Roy Bresnahan, Chad Phelps, Dan Vauter, Tim Sears Jr., Brian Murphy, Adam Roberts, Joe August Jr., Steve Hulsizer, Harry Murphy, Mike Bowman, Shane Donath, Chris Hile.

($1,000 TO WIN SUNY CANTON SPORTSMAN 20 LAPS) – BOB REIS, Earl Rudy, Greg Kimball, Gregg Carner, Dave Emmons, Jordan Bennett, Rocco Leone, Bob Bennett, Tim Schneider, Joe Kline, Beth Schneider, Andrew Ferguson, Katelyn Kane, Billy Clark, Jim Spano, Sean McCarthy, Tony Finch II, Tom Juhl, Jason Occhino, Ben Wheeler, Matthew Parkhurst, Ron Davis III, Greg Mrzywka, Jeremy Pitcher.

(NAPA LATE MODELS 15 LAPS) – TIM SEARS JR., Larry Wight, Jason Parkhurst, Steven Coit, A.J. Kingsley, Dave Talbot, Rick Miller.

(E&V ENERGY NOVICE SPORTSMAN 15 LAPS) – KYLE FINK, Gary Hoppins, Nick Krause, Kris VanNorstrand, Brandon Ford, Carl Warren, Thomas Cook, Bailey Groves, Brian Harbor, Bill Thomas, Dan Keyes.

(MOD LITES 15 LAPS) – GARY JEFFRIES, Josh DeSantis, Jeff Isabell Jr., Mike Mullen, Sterling Miller, Nick Graziano, Sam Usborne, Rob Grzelka, Jeremy Isabell, Gary Sampo, Justin Williams, Rick Demo, Lowell Zehr, Joe Isabell.

(PARTS PLUS FOUR CYLINDER STOCKS) – SKIP DEGROFF, Keith Zirbel, Eric M Zirbel, Chris Bonoffski, Colby Herzog, Mark Johnston, Matt Dawson, Irene Skilinski, Jacobe Palmiter, Les Baker.