Decker Wins Exciting Second Feature Of Season At Brewerton Speedway

By Dave Medler

BREWERTON, NY – Billy Decker took advantage of a late yellow and a pass for the lead getting around Jim Witko Jr. on lap 30.Once in the lead, Decker drove away to win the 35 Tracey Road Equipment Big Block Modified Feature Friday night at the Brewerton Speedway.

It was Decker’s second win of the year at the “D-Shaped Dirt Demon”. Decker is now in second place in the point standings, and trails Jimmy Phelps by 28, with only five point races left in the 2012 season.

Other winners on The Waterfront/Calypso Cay Restaurants/Home Depot Kids Workshop Night were, Ryan Scott, Nationwide Insurance IMCA Modifieds, Jeff Isabell Jr., Beaver River Distribution Mod Lites and Stephen Denton, Anchor Bar & Grill Four Cylinder Super Stocks.

Jim Witko Jr. and Mike Bowman led the 26 car field down to starter Dave Farney’s green flag that saw Witko grab the early advantage in the 35 lap Big Block Modified feature, before a quick yellow on the opening lap, that saw Steve Hulsizer and Willy Decker head pit side with mechanical problems.

On the restart, Witko still led, but Larry Wight went to the top of the speedway to drive around Witko to be shown as the new leader on lap 4.

With 10 laps showing on the scoring tower, Wight was still running the cushion, as he opened a straightaway lead on the field. Witko,Bowman and Mike Mahaney ran in a tight pack, fighting for second, with Chuck Bower a few car lengths back in fifth.

On lap 15, with no yellows to slow the pace down, Wight was on rails, as he started catching the back of the field. Witko, Bowman, Mahaney and Billy Decker were slugging it out for second through fifth.

When the scoring tower read lap 20, Wight was still on cruise control out front, with Witko alone in second. Bowman, Mahaney, Decker and Dan Vauter, fought nose to tail and side by side for third through sixth.

With 10 laps to go, Wight was working on putting cars a lap down, and that allowed Witko to cut into Wight’s lead. Behind the top-two, Bowman, Decker and Mahaney were still battling it out in the top-five.

On lap 28 the whole complexion of the race changed. Wight, who was trying to put a car a lap down going into turn three that saw the back-marker and Wight make contact, sending Wight around and bringing out the yellow.

When the green came back out, Witko still led as Decker looked for a way around Witko in the dash to the finish. On lap 30, Decker found the bite he needed on the bottom as he drove by Witko into the lead.

Over the remaining laps, nobody had anything for Decker, as he drove away for the win. Jim Witko Jr., Robbie Bellinger, who started eleventh, Mike Bowman and Mike Mahaney rounded out the top-five.

“We’ve been earning everything we get here at Brewerton. It’s been tough here all year on us. We keep digging and clawing,” Decker said after getting out of his Gypsum Wholesalers/ Stadium International Trucks/Integra Race Shocks/No.91/Bicknell.

“We got a great team, this whole Gypsum Wholesalers team is really good. Scott (Jeffries) and I are really digging in trying to find something. Tonight we were pretty good, we had more versatility than we usually have. Track was in good shape, it had a top and a bottom, we had a good night.”

In the Nationwide Insurance IMCA Modifieds, Kevan Cook and Ryan Scott came into the night separated by one point in the standings. Over the entire second half of the 20 lap feature, Scott and Cook battled for the lead that saw the two make contact exiting turn four trying to get around a lapped car coming to the checkers with Scott picking up the narrow win. Jason Amidon, Chris Fleming and Gary Smith finished third through fifth.

Coming into this Friday’s racing, Scott and Cook are tied for the point lead with only five point paying races left.

It’s been said that the hardest win to get at any speedway is the first one. On July 20th Jeff Isabell Jr. picked up his first ever Brewerton Speedway win. On Friday night, Isabell won his second straight Beaver River Distribution Mod Lite 20 lap feature. Isabell took the lead on lap 3 and then held off race long challenges from Russ Brown and Gary Jeffries for the win.

Stephen Denton made a rare appearance in the Anchor Bar & Grill Four Cylinder Super Stocks Friday night. Denton held off red hot Chuck Powelczyk for his second win in just three starts this season. Zak Petrie, Jeff Herbert and Jacoby Palmiteer finished third through fifth.

This coming Friday, August 3rd, Maple View Garage and Ingles Performance present a fun filled night of racing, featuring the Tracey Road Equipment Big Block Modifieds, Nationwide Insurance IMCA Modifieds, Beaver River Distribution Mod Lites and the Anchor Bar & Grill Four Cylinder Super Stocks. The Midstate Vintage Stock Car Club will also be joining the racing action.

Gates will open Friday night at 5:30 with the first green flag to wave at 7:30. . Adult grandstand admission will be $12 with everyone 18 years old and younger admitted FREE to the grandstands. Pit admission will be $27 competitors/$30 for non-competitors.

Keep up with the tracks throughout the season by visiting and, on each speedway’s Facebook accounts and on Twitter at and

(TRACEY ROAD EQUIPMENT BIG BLOCK MODIFIEDS 35 LAPS) – BILLY DECKER, Jim Witko Jr., Robbie Bellinger, Mike Bowman, Mike Mahaney, Dan Vauter, Chuck Bower, Peter Britten, Roy Bresnahan, Matt Sheppard, Rich Scagliotta, Matt Hulsizer, Jimmy Phelps, Alan Johnson, Pat Ward, Ryan Phelps, Chad Phelps, Matt Fink, Larry Wight, Tim Sears Jr., Chris Hile, Dan Humes, Ryan Bartlett, Willy Decker, Rich Townsend, Steve Hulsizer.

(NATIONWIDE INSURANCE IMCA MODIFIEDS 20 LAPS) – RYAN SCOTT, Kevan Cook, Jason Amidon, Chris Fleming, Gary Smith, Rob Keller, Matt Roberts, Gary Roberts, Lee Smiedy, Dan Searles, Rich Keller, Mike Stoddard, Tyler Stoddard, Lou, Levea, Tim Fingar, Mike Jones.

(BEAVER RIVER DISTRIBUTION MOD LITES 20 LAPS) – JEFF ISABELL JR., Russ Brown, Gary Jeffries, Nick Graziano, Rick Demo, Lowell Zehr, Justin Williams, Joe Isabell, Mike Mullen, Rob Grzelka, Zach Babcock, Terry Lapham, Lane Bush, Jeremy Isabell, Kelly Skinner, Les Baker, Gary Sampo, Sam Usborne, Tom Mackey, Dave Brown.

(ANCHOR BAR & GRILL FOUR CYLINDER SUPER STOCKS 15 LAPS) –  STEPHEN DENTON, Chuck Powelczyk, Zak Petrie, Jeff Herbert, Jacoby Palmiteer, Sam Carista, Richard Leahey, Mark Warner, Bill Root, Jock Symonds, Colby Herzog, Bill Carista, Chad Dupra, Stephanie Seely, Aaron Backus, Lorraine Powelczyk, Jessica Redhead, Dan Dupra, Sam Curcie.