Devendorf Takes Brewerton Win In Front Of Record Crowd

By Dave Medler

In front of the largest crowd in Speedway history, It was North -vs- South in the final ESDCA Mod Lite feature of the 2009 season Thursday night at the Brewerton Speedway. Invaders from Maryland and Delaware made the long trip north to challenge the speedways best. When it was all said and done track regular Tim Devendorf took top honors in the 25 lap Top Stitch Custom Embroidery feature on Gypsum Wholesalers night.

Andrew Schartner jumped from his outside front row starting spot to grab the lead at the drop of the green of the 25 lap main. Before a full lap was completed Schartner looped his car in turn two collecting Rocco Leone and Jim Tuttle. All three cars would be done for the night.

Attempt number two for the original start saw Delaware’s Brandon Dennis grab the lead on the opening lap as he was being chased by Maryland’s Paul McGinley.

By lap 5 McGinley showed the way by 10 car lengths, as Dennis, Bruce Ackley and Frank Sobotka were in a three way fight for the second spot before a quick yellow slowed the action.

With 10 laps on the scoreboard McGinley and Clayton Brewer III ran bumper to bumper for the lead with Dennis, Devendorf and Joe Garafolo running a distant third through fifth. One lap later a quick yellow would fly for a slowing Frank Sobotka.

On the restart Brewer went to the top of the speedway to be scored the new leader of the race with McGinley trying to hold off a fast closing Devendorf for the runner-up spot.

At the halfway point Brewer still showed the lead as he tried to hold off McGinley, Devendorf, Dennis and Garafolo.

With starter Dave Farney showing showing the field the ten to go sign, you could of thrown a blanket over the top-three of Brewer, McGinley and Devendorf. Garafolo and Dennis were still in the hunt for a top-five finish.

A yellow would fly on lap 17 for Kelly Skinner who stopped in turn four.

Brewer would get a great restart as he opened a few car length advantage, Devendorf would move to second and take off after Brewer.

On lap 22 Devendorf would bolt from the top of the speed in turn three to exit turn four on the bottom to get around Brewer to be the new leader.

One lap later another yellow would fly setting up a 2 lap shootout to the checkers. In the end nobody had anything for Devendorf as he picked up his 8th Feature win to end the 2009 season on a high note.

Clayton Brewer III, Paul McGinley, Joe Garafolo and Brandon Dennis rounded out the top-five. Lowell Zehr, Matt Magner, Canadian Adam Murphy, Terry Lapham and Jeff Barker completed the top-ten.

TOP STITCH CUSTOM EMBROIDERY ESDCA MOD LITES 25 LAPS – Tim Devendorf, Clayton Brewer III, Paul McGinley, Joe Garafolo, Brandon Dennis, Lowell Zehr, Matt Magner, Adam Murphy, Terry Lapham, Jeff Barker, Jeff Blackburn, Lisa Thomas, Bruce Broedel, Bruce Ackley, Mike Bruce, Ricky Yelle, Nick Graziano, Kelly Skinner, Jamie King, Scott Ford, Gary Jeffries, Mike Virginia, Frank Sobotka, Scott Tessman, Jason Broedel, Sam Usborne, Andrew Schartner, Rocco Leone, Jim Tuttle.