Doyle Takes Over Small Block Championship Lead with Grand Prix 35 on the Horizon

OSWEGO, NY – After taking the checkered flag in the season opener for Oswego Speedway’s Pathfinder Bank Small Block Super division back in May, Dalton Doyle is once again the championship leader heading into Saturday night’s Grand Prix 35 at the ‘Steel Palace.’

 Dalton Doyle once again leads the Pathfinder Bank SBS Driver Standings at Oswego Speedway, heading into this weekend's Fourth of July Grand Prix 35.
Dalton Doyle once again leads the Pathfinder Bank SBS Driver Standings at Oswego Speedway, heading into this weekend’s Fourth of July Grand Prix 35.

Doyle, who drove to victory in a chassis of his own design in early May, took another top five finish on June 20, and with defending series champion Andrew Schartner failing to finish, Doyle now retakes the championship lead by four points over Schartner.

With three top ten finishes in four starts as well as a heat race victory to his credit, Doyle was in prime position to take advantage of a rare DNF for Schartner, who had finishes in the top ten of the previous three SBS main events prior to June 20.

Hot on their heels is 2012 series champion Kreig Heroth, just five points out of the championship lead.

With two top five finishes on the year, Heroth has managed a top ten finish in all four events this season, leaving himself in position to make a bid for the championship lead this weekend.

The remainder of the top ten in the SBS standings is incredibly close, with only 33 points separating first from tenth.

Mike Bruce currently rides in the fourth position, just 12 markers out of the lead, with Camden Proud and Jason Simmons tied for the fifth position only 17 from the lead.

Anthony Losurdo and Jack Patrick are currently tied in the seventh position, 19 points from the top spot, with Mike Bond and JJ Andrews finishing the front ten four races into the season.

Alex McRae currently leads the Butler Disposal Rookie of the Year standings, riding 19th in the overall championship.

The Novelis Supermodified side of the championship equation sees Otto Sitterly with a healthy lead of over 50 points with four feature wins to his credit this season, and top five runs in all main events completed.

Bob Bond rides in the runner-up position with Dave Danzer sitting in the third spot, 14-points behind Bond.

Kody Graham and Jeff Abold are the current top five with Ray Graham, Michael Muldoon, Shaun Gosselin, Brandon Bellinger, and Pat Lavery holding down the top ten spots.

Aric Iosue continues to lead the way in the Rookie of the Year standings.

The Speedway is back in action this weekend with more in store as the always exciting Grand Prix main events will take place with a 75-lap Novelis Supermodified feature and a 35-lap Pathfinder Bank SBS main to celebrate Independence Day this Saturday, July 4.

Ending the evening of racing and fun will again be a gigantic fireworks display to cap the night and put a patriotic finishing touch on the Speedway’s Fourth of July celebration.

Fans are also reminded that July 4 will be the second Novelis Fan Can Chase Night of the year.  Bring your aluminum cans for recycling for a chance to win Speedway race tickets.  Redemptions will take place in front of the Speedway from 3-6 p.m.

Grand Prix Night and Christmas in July will also be a Price Chopper Tickets to Go event with tickets available at any Price Chopper Supermarkets location for only $14. As always kids 16 and under are free with a paid adult.

Grandstand gates will open on July 4 with the beginning of hot laps at 4 p.m. Santa Claus will be available for the kids at 6 p.m., with the first heat race taking the green at 6:30 p.m.

For more information on Oswego Speedway visit online at or LIKE on Facebook at or FOLLOW on Twitter @OswegoSpeedway.

Those interested in Speedway video programming online can subscribe to the Speedway’s YouTube Channel, ‘OswegoSpeedwayOnline’

To purchase tickets for the 2015 racing season call the Speedway box office at (315) 342-0646.

2015 Oswego Speedway – Pathfinder Bank – Hoosier Tire – SUNOCO
Small Block Supermodified Driver’s Championship

POS.   ##     DRIVER        PTS.

1        O1      DALTON DOYLE*    369

2        18      ANDREW SCHARTNER       365

3        O4      KREIG HEROTH                 364

4        22      MIKE BRUCE                    357

5        54      CAMDEN PROUD               352

6        98      JASON SIMMONS              352

7        1        ANTHONY LOSURDO*       350

8        9        JACK PATRICK                  350

9        74      MIKE BOND*                     347

10      93      JJ ANDREWS                     336

2015 Oswego Speedway – Novelis – Hoosier Tire – SUNOCO
Supermodified Driver’s Championship

POS.   ##     DRIVER        PTS.

1        7        OTTO SITTERLY****        424.5

2        47      BOB BOND                       373

3        52      DAVE DANZER                  359

4        21      KODY GRAHAM                 356

5        O5      JEFF ABOLD                     336

6        90      RAY GRAHAM                   333

7        51      MICHAEL MULDOON*       329

8        26      SHAUN GOSSELIN             328

9        O2      BRANDON BELLINGER       323

10      22      PAT LAVERY                    323