EMS Providers To Be Honored At Annual Banquet May 10

OSWEGO, NY – The Oswego County Emergency Medical Services Advisory Council will honor emergency medical services providers for outstanding patient care during the annual awards banquet May 10, at Bayshore, 104 Bayshore Drive in Oswego.

The awards are based on the actions of emergency medical services providers in the calendar year 2012, and will be chosen by a subcommittee of EMSAC.

“This is a wonderful opportunity to honor the professionals who serve the community as emergency medical services providers in emergency care,” said EMSAC President Norm Wallis. “Last year, 20 of these highly trained and compassionate people were honored.”

Recipients at this awards banquet will include Alexander Stevens of Oswego County Ambulance Service; Advance Life Support Provider of the Year; David N. Turverey of SOVAC and Ricky Johnson of North Shore, Basic Life Support Providers of the Year; Adam G. Howard of Fulton Fire Department, Educator of the Year; Zach Menter of Oswego County Ambulance Service,

Leadership Award; and Wayne Hall of McFee Volunteer Ambulance and Marty Spink of SOVAC, Excellence in STEMI Care.

The EMS Communications Award will be presented to Dorine Hanevy, Susan Buske, Cathy Forsythe, Angela Pietroski, and Jennifer Miller of the Oswego County E-911 Communications Center.

Cathy Barry of Oswego Hospital will receive the Registered Nurse of Excellence Award.

Oswego County Ambulance Service (Menter’s) and Oswego Fire Department will each receive two Life Saving Awards.

Menter’s providers Michelle Rockwood, Tracie DeSantis, Garrett Hauf, and Jim Webster will be honored for their efforts in one life-saving incident, while Chris Foy, Steven Sant, Dennis Shaw, Joe Susino and Brandon Brown will be honored for their work on another event.

At Oswego Fire Department, Carl Emmons, Robert Smith, Ray Abbott, and Dr. Derek Cooney will be honored for their efforts on one EMS call while Bryan Easton, Don LaBarge, William Delapp, David Engle, and William Harrington will be cited for their EMS services on another call.

The public is invited to the event, at a cost of $10 per person.

The evening begins at 5:30 p.m., with the awards ceremony beginning at 6 p.m.

Reservations with payment are due by May 8 to the Oswego County Emergency Management Office/Emergency Medical Services, 200 N. Second St., Fulton, NY 13069.

Sponsorships are still available, and include the following levels:

Gold: $1,500 and above. Sponsors will see their business logo printed prominently in the event program and will be able to bring eight guests for a reserved table.

Silver: up to $1,500. Sponsors will see their business logo printed in the event program and will be able to bring eight guests for a reserved table.

Anyone interested in being a sponsor may contact one of the banquet committee members or call 315/591-9150.