Fall Championship Returns to Oswego Speedway September 15

OSWEGO, NY –  While the 2012 edition of the Budweiser International Classic may be in the books, there is still one more chance to see racing at Oswego Speedway coming on Sept. 15.

For the first time since 2005, the Speedway will hold a non-wing event passed Classic Weekend with the rebirth of the Fall Championship.  The season finale will be a non-points paying event featuring a 75-lap Novelis Supermodified main and a 35-lap Pathfinder Bank SBS feature.

Pits gates will open on Sept. 15 at 1:30 p.m. with warmups getting under way at 3:30 p.m.

Tim Snyder was the last winner of a post-Classic Weekend Novelis Supermodified main event at Oswego Speedway back in October of 2005. (Mike Johnson Photo)
Tim Snyder was the last winner of a post-Classic Weekend Novelis Supermodified main event at Oswego Speedway back in October of 2005. (Mike Johnson Photo)

The main spectator grandstands will open at 3:30 p.m. with racing getting under way 30-minutes earlier than a normal race night at 6 p.m.

General admission prices for the Fall Championship are set at $20 with padded reserved seats $25 and pit pass admission $35.  Kids 16 and under are FREE as well as active Military personnel with I.D.

Season passes from the 2012 racing season will be honored at the Fall Championship.

The Fall Championship event, which ran annually from 1951-1987, has certainly seen its share of historical moments and winners.  Champions include John Torrese Sr., Nolan Swift, Ed Bellinger Sr., Gordon Johncock, Sam Sessions and Ron Lux.

In 1963 ‘Jungle’ Jim Gresley and Art Bennett joined the list of winners in unique fashion.  Gresley, who started the event behind the wheel of his No. 111, had been hampered with a fractured shoulder and under red flag conditions handed his ride over to Bennett who would go on to defeat Dave Paul in the 50-lap event.  The win marked the first time in Speedway history that a relief pilot had participated once a race had been started, and then went on to win.

Bentley Warren would go on to win six fall events during his career including three in a row from 1985-1987.  After the ’87 season there would not be another fall event held until 1998 when Bob Goutermout ran to victory over Greg Furlong and Warren, in the West Racing No. 1.

Seven years later the final two non-wing post Classic events were held with Tim Snyder picking up both wins in 2005.

During those fall events in ‘05, Brandon Bellinger would pick up his only career Top 5 finishes to date with a fifth place run on September 24 and a career best third on Oct. 8.

Warren, who was noted for his spectacular post-Classic performances, finished second in the Oct. 8, 2005 event to Snyder driving the Double Deuce Racing No. 22 for Bob Hoefer and Bill Samuels.

Ironically, Warren would come back one year later on Sept. 17, 2006, to pick up his last Oswego Speedway win in an ISMA event driving for Vic Miller.

Hoefer stated earlier today via Facebook that both the No. 50 and No. 22 Lighthouse Lanes rides will be in attendance for the Fall Championship.  The No. 22 with Pat Lavery at the controls qualified on the pole for the International Classic only to take a wild ride into the second turn wall passed lap 150.  Repairs will be made to the No. 22 and Lavery will be in the Fall Championship field on Sept. 15.

All of the other top Novelis Supermodified drivers are expected to be in attendance with such a storied title on the line and $2,500 going to the winner.

Joining the Novelis Supermodifieds on September 15 will be the Pathfinder Bank SBS series. The division, which began in 1992, has only raced in post-Classic Speedway events on three occasions with the first in 1995.

Dean Hoag picked up the 25-lap win on Oct. 8, 1995, over Daryl Nichols, Bob Goutermout, Todd Gordon, and Denny Wheeler.  The only other two Speedway sanctioned SBS events to run in the fall were held in conjunction with the Supermodifieds in 2005 as Lou LeVea Sr. and Chris Proud picked up victories.

With the events of Sept. 15 being non-point races, expect some silly season seat swaps to get under way, especially in the SBS division.  Sportsman Classic champion Jeremy Pitcher is expected to hit the asphalt once again, this time behind the wheel of one of the Team Tapout SBS machines owned by Jason Simmons.

For more information on Oswego Speedway, visit online at www.oswegospeedway.com

You can FOLLOW the Speedway on Twitter @OswegoSpeedway and LIKE on Facebook at facebook.com/OswegoSpeedway.

For questions call the Speedway offices from 9 a.m. – 4 p.m. Monday-Friday at (315) 342-0646.

FALL CHAMPIONSHIP WINNERS (1951-1987, 1998, 2005):

1951: Newt Ward

1952: John Torrese Sr.

1953: Nolan Swift

1954: Ronnie Dwyer

1955: Jack Murphy

1956: Jim Fuller

1957: Ed Bellinger Sr.

1958: Lee Bliss

1959: Billy Blum

1960: Ed Bellinger Sr.

1961: Nolan Swift

1962: Gordon Johncock

1963: Gresley/Bennett

1964: Sam Sessions

1965: Ron Lux

1966: Bentley Warren

1967: Red Barnhart

1968: Todd Gibson

1969: Bentley Warren

1970: Warren Coniam

1971: Norm Mackareth

1972: Jim Shampine

1973: Jim Shampine

1974: Bob Stelter

1975: Don MacLaren

1976: Jim Cheney

1977: Ed Bellinger Jr.

1978: Jim Shampine

1979: Chuck Ciprich

1980: Ed Bellinger Jr.

1981: Doug Heveron

1982: Doug Heveron

1983: Ed Bellinger Jr.

1984: Joe Gosek

1985: Bentley Warren

1986: Bentley Warren

1987: Bentley Warren

1998: Bob Goutermout

2005: Tim Snyder