*** Spencer Speedway Press ***

By – Gary Spaid

Photos – Bev&Ken Dippel Photos

WILLIAMSON, NY – Macedon’s Chris Finocchario powered by early feature race leader, Daryl Lewis Jr. to grab his third NASCAR Sunoco Modified feature victory at Spencer Speedway in 2010.

Kevin Timmerman had moved into second, behind Finocchario, on lap seven. Timmerman tried both the low and the high lines around Finocchario, but could make neither one work to his advantage. So he settled for second just inches off of Finocchario’s rear nerf bar. Ryan Beeman, searching for his second feature win on the season, finished a close third. Early leader, Daryl Lewis, Jr. finished fourth, followed by Bobby Lippa Jr.

Chris Finocchario collected the feature win at Spencer on Friday night

“I have to thank Kevin (Timmerman) for racing me pretty clean,” stated Finocchario. “He had a much faster car, but I just held my line.”

Roger Worden, from Fairport, took top honors in the Street Stock class.

“Tonight, our car was handling really well,” commented Worden in victory lane. “Each week we bring this crate engine out to prove its power.”

Dave Bradshaw, a physical education teacher by trade, won his first Auto Value Scorpion Four Cylinder race of the year. Interestingly Bradshaw commented that this victory was his first in a race car since he was 15-years old. He has won in other racing, picking up the win in 2007 in the Rochester Marathon. The Auto Value Scorpions were competing for double points in their feature race.

The Super Six division saw their 20-lap feature run green-to-checkers. Skip Powers picked up his sixth feature win in 10 races held this year at Spencer.

“We have spent a lot of time in making this car handle on the outside lane,” stated Powers. “Once you can dial that line in the handling down low works great also.”

The 35-lap NASCAR Sunoco Modified main event saw Bobby Lippa, Jr. and Daryl Lewis, Jr. pace the field down to take the green. Lewis Jr. took command of the lead, using the outside line around the speedway.

On lap six, Finocchario ducked low down the back stretch and passed Lewis Jr. for the lead as the field exited the fourth turn. Timmerman followed him through the opening to take second. The only yellow of the event came when Mark Cline spun exiting the fourth turn. He looped his car through the infield grass.

Finocchario (8) and Timmerman (17) battle side-by-side in the Sunoco Modified feature

The restart saw Finocchario remain the leader with Timmerman in second and Ryan Beeman in third. These three broke away from the pack in a tight battle for the lead. Timmerman tried the low line to no avail and then tried on the high side. Each time, Finocchario was able to out-drag Timmerman and remain in the lead.

The front trio of Finocchario, Timmerman and Beeman cross the finish line some 15-car lengths ahead of the next three cars; Lewis Jr., Lippa Jr. and Eddie Hawkins. Hawkins had lost a motor in pre-race practice, returned home and changed motors. He was able to make it back to the speedway before the start of the feature.

The Street Stocks saw just four cars take the green. Roger Worden and Mitchell Wright cross the line on the first lap side-by-side, with Wright being given the edge as the leader. From that point on it was all Worden. Wright finished second just holding off Kris Hillegeer in third. Tyler Shove finished in fourth.

In the 20-lap Super Six feature, Patti Davenport looked to repeat from the heat race. She powered into the lead and took off from the field. Skip Powers was able to take second from Ryan Hillegeer on lap four and take off after Davenport.

On lap six he caught her, and using a low side pass, took the lead. It was then Powers’ turn to pull away from the pack. By lap 17, Powers held a full straightaway lead. Davenport held on to take second followed by Hillegeer, Chris Andolino and Van Grant.

The Auto Value Scorpions ran a 15-lap main event with Dave Bradshaw leading the entire distance. The race had to be restarted when Andrea LaManna looped off the front stretch before lap one could be put into the books. During this yellow, points leader Otis Bradshaw pulled pitside, out of the double point event.

The restart was all Dave Bradshaw in a Honda with Bro Bradshaw’s Mustang hot on his rear bumper. Zach Willis was holding down third with Mike Bradshaw battling off Russell Peets for fourth and fifth. Peets made his move on lap seven and took fourth. One lap later, he passed Willis for third and took off after the leaders.

Points leader Skip Powers pocketed his sixth feature win of the year in the 6-cylinder division

Peets was closing the gap, but fell just short of taking second at the line from Bro. Dave took the win for Honda, followed by Bro, Peets, Mike Bradshaw and Kevin Bertolone rounding out the top five.

TO THE POINT: With just three weeks left in the season it would seem important to look at the top three in each point race. In the NASCAR Sunoco Modifieds Kevin Timmerman (724) leads the way 81 points ahead of Chris Finocchario (643). Buck Catalano sits in third.

The NASCAR Street Stocks find Mitchell Wright (703) ahead of Kris Hillegeer (667) by 36 points. Roger Worden (641) seems to be closing the gap weekly.

The Super Sixes find Skip Powers (720) with six feature wins, ahead of Patti Davenport (668) and rookie Bill Hallett (643).

The double points hurt Otis Bradshaw in the Auto Value Scorpion division, who dropped out early. Bro Bradshaw (692) took the points lead over Otis (664) and now holds a mere 28 point advantage over Otis, who sits second. Mike Bradshaw (623) sits in third, just 69 points out of the lead.

This Friday, August 27, a complete program of NASCAR Sunoco Modified, Street Stock, Super Six and Auto Value Scorpion are on the race card. Race fans from last week can present their ticket stub at the main gate window for a $2 discount on admission. Race time starts at 7:30 p.m. sharp.

Street Stock division winner, Roger Worden, landed his No. 32 in victory lane for the second time this season

Spencer Speedway is located just 15 minutes east of Rochester, NY, along Route 104 in the Town of Williamson. Spencer Speedway is the local “NASCAR Place to Race” for upstate New York. Points earned each week at Spencer are counted into the national NASCAR Whelen All-American Series championship. There are only three weeks remaining in the 2010 oval track season.



HEAT 1: R. Brown, D. Lazzaro, M. Bradshaw, O. Bradshaw, R. Peets.

HEAT 2: A. Knoepfler, D. Bradshaw, B. Bradshaw, K. Bertolone, Z. Willis.

FEATURE (15-laps): DAVE BRADSHAW, Bro Bradshaw, Russell Peets, Mike Bradshaw, Kevin Bertolone, Zach Willis, Alison Knoepfler, Ryan Brown, Dale Lazzaro, Dan Scott, Joe Cook, Beth Dennie, Otis Bradshaw, Andrea LaManna.  (Lap Leaders: Dave Bradshaw- 15 laps)


HEAT 1: R. Hillegeer, P. Cowell, T. Faro, B. Allen, B. Malin.

HEAT 2: P. Davenport, S. Powers, C. Andolino, V. Grant, B. Hallett.

FEATURE (20-laps): SKIP POWERS, Patti Davenport, Ryan Hillegeer, Chris Andolino, Van Grant, Brian Hallett, Peter Cowell, Tim Faro, Brandon Allen, Adam VanHall, Bill Malin. (Lap leaders: Patti Davenport- 6 laps, Skip Powers- 14 laps)


HEAT: R. Worden, M. Wright, K. Hillegeer, T. Shove.

FEATURE (20-laps): ROGER WORDEN, Mitchell Wright, Kris Hillegeer, Tyler Shove. (Lap leaders: Mitchell Wright – 1 lap, Roger Worden -19 laps)


HEAT 1: K. Timmerman, D. Lewis Jr., B. Lippa Jr., M. Lees, M. Cline.

HEAT 2: T. Bradshaw, C. Finocchario, R. Beeman, J. Boerman, S. Combs.

FEATURE (35-laps): CHRIS FINOCCHARIO, Kevin Timmerman, Ryan Beeman, Daryl Lewis Jr., Bobby Lippa Jr., Eddie Hawkins, Toad Bradshaw, Jake Boerman, Mark Cline, Scott Combs, Amy Catalano, DNS-Matt Lees. (Lap leaders: Daryl Lewis Jr-6 laps, Chris Finocchario – 29 laps)