Fulton PD Honors Officers For Traffic Safety

The Fulton Police Department recently acknowledged its top performing officers in their annual traffic safety program. as in previous years, officers were tasked with identifying and enforcing aggressive driving violations.

Aggressive driving is one of the leading causes of traffic collisions – it includes speeding, unsafe lane changes, failure to signal, tailgating, failure to yield right of way, disregarding traffic control devices and impaired driving. Cell phone usage while driving was also targeted.

The top three Fulton police officers in the program, which spanned October 1, 2008 to September 30, 2009 were:

  • Officer Lucas Hollenbeck
  • Officer Christopher Jones
  • Officer Ryan Blake

Also recognized for their significant contributions to the FPD traffic safety program were:

  • Investigator Michael Batstone
  • Officer Jeff Margrey
  • Officer Brian Dumas
  • Officer Rick Hahn
  • Officer Jeremy Algarin
  • Officer Christian Dempsey
  • Officer Brandon Lanning
  • Officer Gary Percival
  • Officer Victor Kaufman
  • Officer Jeremy Hutchinson
  • Officer Brandon Harris

Officer Ryan Blake was recognized with the FPD “Top Gun” award for the second consecutive year, after intercepting the highest speed in the city during the program period.

The efforts of all of these officers will be formally recognized at the City of Fulton’s annual awards ceremony to be held in April, 2010.

Fulton Police remain committed to traffic safety in their community. Earlier this year, Fulton Police were the recipient of the first place award for excellence in traffic safety for a department of its size in the New York Law Enforcement Challenge program. In February, 2009, Fulton Police also received the Platinum AAA Community Traffic Safety award for outstanding success in local traffic safety issues. The annual traffic safety program is funded through the New York State Governor’s Traffic Safety Committee.