Gareau, Marotta Among Oswego Speedway’s 2016 Hall of Fame Class

OSWEGO, NY – A new class of inductees will be introduced into Oswego Speedway’s Mitchell’s Speedway Press Hall of Fame on November 5 led by former Novelis Supermodified track champion Tim Gareau and 25-year Speedway announcer Joe Marotta.

" data-medium-file="’s-2016-Hall-of-Fame-Class-300x189.jpg" data-large-file="’s-2016-Hall-of-Fame-Class-460x290.jpg" class="size-medium wp-image-201059" src="’s-2016-Hall-of-Fame-Class-300x189.jpg" alt="Former Oswego Speedway Supermodified track champion Tim Gareau leads this year's Oswego Speedway Hall of Fame class." width="300" height="189" srcset="’s-2016-Hall-of-Fame-Class-300x189.jpg 300w,’s-2016-Hall-of-Fame-Class-150x95.jpg 150w,’s-2016-Hall-of-Fame-Class-460x290.jpg 460w,’s-2016-Hall-of-Fame-Class.jpg 750w" sizes="(max-width: 300px) 100vw, 300px" />
Former Oswego Speedway Supermodified track champion Tim Gareau leads this year’s Oswego Speedway Hall of Fame class.

Gareau and Marotta will be joined by another former Supermodified shoe in Wayne Landon, longtime Small Block Super car builders Dan Dennie and Ray Hedger as well as Norm Patrick and the Patrick family of Gater Racing News.

One of the original Small Block Super competitors from the inaugural 1992 campaign at Oswego Speedway, Tim Gareau finished third in the SBS championship in year one with one feature victory.

Driving the No. 5 Gareau went on to win five more SBS feature races in 1993 and 1994 before becoming Supermodified Rookie of the Year in 1995.

Gareau’s first Supermodified triumph was a big one, coming in 1997 as the winner of the $10,000 to win Mr. Supermodified over Doug Didero and Pat Abold.

From there Gareau continued to excel in the Supermodified ranks winning 12 more Super features, tied with Art Bennett and Bob Goutermout all-time.

Gareau’s run of success culminated with a Supermodified championship drive in 2004, defeating Tim Snyder and Greg Furlong to earn his only Speedway track championship.

While Gareau won just won track title, he was in the championship hunt on more than once occasion finishing second in 1998 and 1999 to Mike Muldoon, third in 2000 behind Furlong and Goutermout and second yet again in 2006 behind Otto Sitterly.

In total Gareau racked up a total of 13 Supermodified wins at Oswego and 67 top five finishes.

Announcer Joe Marotta has been a staple of Oswego Speedway’s race night program since 1992, with the introduction of the Small Block Super class, becoming the voice of the SBS division.

Joining veteran lead announcer Roy Sova to form a super duo of announcing talent some 25 years ago, Marotta continues to share the mic with Sova on Saturday nights calling the majority of the action for the popular SBS division.

Veteran Michigan Supermodified campaigner Wayne Landon was a regular at Oswego Speedway from 1962 to 1970, winning his lone Oswego main event in August of the 1966 season over Don Maclaren and Todd Gibson.

Scoring a total of 28 top five finishes at Oswego, Landon scored top point finishes of fourth in 1964 as well as sixth place finishes in 1965 and ’66.

A member of the Michigan Motorsports Hall of Fame since 1985, Landon piloted Supermodifieds for the likes of Jack Ehman, Steve Gioia Sr., and Bill and Jerry Knoof.

Dan Dennie and Ray Hedger have been building Small Block Supermodifieds since the inception of the class, helping and guiding countless drivers over the year’s right up this last Classic Weekend.

Dennie, a former Supermodified driver at Oswego, has been at the forefront of the FFB chassis at the Speedway for several years building and fabricating rides for champions like Mark Regan, Kevin Knopp, Dave Cliff, Mike Bond and more.

Hedger, who comes from a long line of famous Modified racing Hedgers, has continued the Hedger Fabrication tradition building machines and even on occasion fielding cars for champions such as Russ Brown, Kreig Heroth and Andrew Schartner.

Norm Patrick and the Patrick family of Gater Racing News covered Oswego Speedway for many seasons, providing promotion and media coverage for the ‘Steel Palace.’

The Gater Racing News trade paper was one of the main arteries of auto racing coverage throughout the region for several seasons, helping to keep Oswego Speedway in the limelight for so many years.

Oswego Speedway’s 2016 Hall of Fame Banquet will be held at the Lake Ontario Event and Conference Center on November 5.

Tickets will go on sale in the coming days.

For more information on Oswego Speedway visit online at or like on Facebook at or follow on Twitter @OswegoSpeedway.

Those interested in Speedway video programming online can subscribe to the Speedway’s YouTube Channel, ‘OswegoSpeedwayOnline’