Gary Tomkins Becomes The Twelfth Different Big Block Modified Winner At The Brewerton Speedway; Super Sprints This Friday August 19

By Dave Medler

BREWERTON, NY – After just only a handful of starts in a new car and a new team, Gary Tomkins and car owner Duane “Deek” Decker put themselves in victory lane Friday night at the Brewerton Speedway.

Tomkins took the lead on lap 10 of the 35 lap feature from Mike Bowman. Once in the lead he had to hold off Bowman trying to retake the lead, then hard challenges from Larry Wight and then Chuck Bower to become the twelfth different Tracey Road Equipment Big Block Modified winner this season.

Other winners on Syracuse.Com Family Autograph Night night were, Kevan Cook Nationwide Insurance IMCA Modifieds, Joe Garafolo Beaver River Distribution ESDCA Mod Lites and Jim Money Metalico Four Cylinder Super Stocks.

Mike Bowman out raced Tony Steiner and the rest the rest of the 26 car starting field to the lead the opening lap of the 35 lap Tracey Road Equipment Big Block Modified feature.

Bowman and Gary Tomkins fought for the lead like it was the last lap of the feature with Tomkins grabbing and narrow advantage on lap ten. Just behind the top-two, Steve Hulsizer, Chuck Bower and Chris Hile battled nose to tail and side by side for third through fifth.

At the halfway point, while Tomkins and Bowman were putting on a show out front, Hulsizer and Bower closed in on the two making it a four-car battle just before a quick yellow flew to tighten the whole field up for a restart.

Just two-laps later the yellow would fly again, this time for point’s leader Stewart Friesen who would be pushed to the pits ending his night.

When the green came back out, Tomkins had a new challenger for the lead, Larry Wight, who started ninth, started putting pressure on Tomkins for the lead. Tomkins drove a steady line as he was able to hold off Wight till one final caution with just under 10 laps to go.

When the green flew one final time, Tomkins and Wight came together allowing Bower to grab second and have a run at Tomkins for the win. Over the final laps Tomkins was to strong as he was the first under the checkers for his first win at the Brewerton Speedway since 2008. Bower, Billy Decker who came from the consi, Alan Johnson and Matt Sheppard rounded out the top-five.

“It’s been to long, I got to thank Deek (DuaneDecker), Tony, Rollie and all the guys who work on this car,” said Tomkins after exiting his “The Deuce” in victory lane.

“We struggled the first couple nights in it, and we probably should’ve. It takes quite awhile to get used to the tires and this track. We had some issues with the car. After the race last week we called Randy Williamson (From Bicknell) got together with him with all kinds of phone calls. Deek and Rollie made all kind of changes on the car; it’s really starting to feel like it should here. We just got to get laps on the car here and learn what it needs for this track. The competition is just so tough here; you’re off just a little bit you’re in the back.”

In the 20 lap Nationwide Insurance IMCA Modified feature, Keven Cook grabbed the lead from Chris Fleming on lap 12 and never looked back for his eighth win of the year. Chris Fleming, Rob Keller, Lou Levea and Rich Keller rounded out the top-five.

In the heat races Joe Garafolo set a new Beaver River Distribution ESDCA Mod Lite track record with a lap of 16.004 seconds. In the 20 lap feature Garafolo and Tim Devendorf swapped the lead back and forth before Garafolo took the lead for good on lap 7 to pick up his second win of the year. Tim Devendorf, Andrew Schartner, Jeff Blackburn and Lowell Zehr rounded out the top-five.

Jim Money took the lead on lap 2 of the 15 lap Metalico Four Cylinder Super Stock feature. Once in the lead Money had to not only fight heavy lapped traffic but had to hold off repeated challenges from Chuck Powelczyk for his second win of the year. Stephen Denton, Doug Elkins and Wendell Washington finished third through fifth.

Next Friday night the Tracey Road Equipment Big Block Modifieds will have the night off, but the high speed action on the “D-Shaped Dirt Demon” won’t slow down as Schneider Packaging presents the Winged Warriors of the Lucas Oil Empire Super Sprints. You combine the Brewerton Speedway and Sprint Cars you have a night of unpredictable, clay tossing, and sideways action.

Also on the race card will be the Nationwide Insurance IMCA Modifieds, Beaver River Distribution ESDCA Mod Lites, Metalico Four Cylinder Super Stocks and the Junior Fan Club Home Depot Kids Workshop.

Adult grandstand admission will be $15 with everyone 18 years old and younger admitted free to the grandstand. Gates will open at 5:30 with racing starting at 7:30.

Don’t forget to follow Fulton Speedway on Facebook and on Twitter at Brewerton Speedway is also active on both Facebook and Twitter at Please call Cory Reed at 315-668-6906 or [email protected] with any questions.

(TRACEY ROAD EQUIPMENT BIG BLOCK MODIFIEDS 35 LAPS) – GARY TOMKINS, Chuck Bower, Billy Decker, Alan Johnson, Matt Sheppard, Pat Ward, Jimmy Phelps, Mike Bowman, Jim Witko Jr., Peter Britten, Jim Davis, Rich Scagliotta, Ryan Phelps, Chad Phelps, Tom Sears Jr., Matt Fink, Steve Hulsizer, Mike Mahaney, Roy Bresnahan, Chris Hile, Willy Decker, Tony Steiner, Stewart Friesen, Pat O’Brien, Dan Vauter, Larry Wight.

(NATIONWIDE INSURANCE IMCA MODIFIEDS 20 LAPS) – KEVAN COOK, Chris Fleming, Rob Keller, Lou Levea, Rich Keller, John West, Lee Smedy, Brandon Carvey, Becca Eastman, Jason Amidon, Mike Jones, Jeff Amidon, Andy Kieffer, Jim Walsh, Joe Miles, Mike Chilson.

(BEAVER RIVER DISTRIBUTION ESDCA MOD LITES 20 LAPS) – JOE GARAFOLO, Tim Devendorf, Andrew Schartner, Jeff Blackburn, Lowell Zehr, Gary Jeffries, Mike Mullen, Joe Isabell, Rob Grzelka, Rick Demo, Nick Graziano, Terry Lapham, Sam Usborne, Jeremy Isabell, Ricky Yelle, Jeff Herbert, Rick DeGroff, Cody Fleming, Kelly Skinner, Lane Bush, Zach Babcock, Doug Williams, Jeff Isabell Jr., Sterling Miller, Jeff Isabell Sr., Jim Bogett, Lorrie Herbert, Jessica Redhead.

(METALICO FOUR CYLINDER SUPER STOCK 15 LAPS) – JIM MONEY, Chuck Powelczyk, Stephen Denton, Doug Elkins, Wendell Washington, Ethan Halsey, Lorraine Powelczyk, Richard Leahey, Jeff Monroe, Colby Herzog, Jake Gagnon, Bill Carista, Sam Curcie, Sam Carista, Brial Jewell, Keith Shay, Chad Dupra, Corie Locke.