Graduating Oswego High School Seniors Honored by Oswego Rotary Club

OSWEGO – The Oswego Rotary Club recently honored five graduating seniors of the Oswego City School District, and their parents, at lunch with scholarships and an Occupational Education Award.

Club president Dr. Richard Tesoriero presented framed certificates to the $1,000 scholarship recipients and a check to the award recipient.

From left are: Zachary Bush, Reilly Patrick, Kara Weiss, Meredith Chesare and Benjamin Chatterton. They were recently honored by the Oswego Rotary Club with scholarships and awards.
From left are: Zachary Bush, Reilly Patrick, Kara Weiss, Meredith Chesare and Benjamin Chatterton. They were recently honored by the Oswego Rotary Club with scholarships and awards.

The scholarships will be paid to the students after the successful completion of their first and third semesters of college.

The Occupational Education Award is given to affirm Rotary’s appreciation of the dignity of all useful work and respect for all productive occupations.

Zachary Bush, son of Richard and Diane Bush, is this year’s recipient of the $500 award. Bush earned high ratings at the Center for Instruction, Technology, and Innovation in outdoor power equipment and placed second at Skills USA Area 2 Conference in the outdoor power equipment competition. He finished in first place and received a gold medal in the Motorcycle Service Technology Division of Skills USA to earn the opportunity to compete in the 2015 Skills USA National Competition in Louisville, Kentucky this month. He plans to serve in the U. S. Army in wheeled vehicle mechanics.

The Charles E. Riley Oswego Rotary Scholarship remembers the founding president (1927–1930) of the Oswego Rotary Club and former superintendent of the Oswego City School District and was given to Reilly Patrick, daughter of Kimberly Patrick and the late David Patrick.

Patrick’s school activities included playing basketball and volleyball, officer of National Honor Society, member of prom committee, junior variety show emcee, member of the concert orchestra and symphonic orchestra, and study of drawing, painting, and advanced art. In the community she volunteered at Camp Rainbow of Hope, Springboard Mural Project, summer camp, kindergarten classroom at Kingsford Park School, Salvation Army, Care and Share, and a number of others. She received an honors award in Spanish and many prestigious awards in writing, art, and photography. She will attend Ithaca College to study occupational therapy.

Meredith Chesare, daughter of Joseph and Sandra Chesare, received the Ralph and Dorothy Faust Oswego Rotary Scholarship.

Faust served as president of the Oswego Rotary Club (1934–1935) and was formerly principal of Oswego High School. Chesare participated as a leader and member of such school activities as junior varsity and varsity tennis, Interact Club, class vice president, Student Council, National Honor Society, yearbook staff, New Vision Allied Health, and pediatric cancer awareness fundraiser for the Golisano Chidren’s Hospital. She served as a missionary to the Dominican Republic in the summer of 2014, is a certified waterfront lifeguard, participated in Leadership Oswego County Youth, and volunteered at Oswego Hospital, Christian Missionary Alliance nursery, Parents and Children with Special Needs, and Medical Academy of Science and Health. She will study the biological sciences at LeMoyne College.

The Manjula R. Shah Oswego Rotary Scholarship was given to Kara Weiss, daughter of Garrett and Rebecca Weiss, in memory of Dr. Shah; physician, philanthropist, and dedicated Rotarian and is provided with generous support from the Tarandi Foundation.

Weiss is the student liaison member of the Oswego City School District Board of Education. She served as president of Student Council, her freshman class, the National Honor Society, and Kiwanis Educated Youth Club. She held other leadership positions with her junior class, varsity golf team, Red Cross blood drives, powder puff football game, school pep rally, winter formal, Interact Club, and prom planning committee. Her community contributions include pediatric cancer fundraiser, Cystic Fibrosis walk, leukemia fundraiser, Relay for Life, Salvation Army soup kitchen, and many others. She will attend Yale University to study biological sciences leading to becoming a medical doctor.

The Anthony J. Murabito Oswego Rotary Scholarship, given in memory of the former principal of Oswego High School, an active member of the Oswego Rotary Club for more than 51 years, club president (1967 – 1968), and a leader and advocate for the Rotary scholarship program.

The award is given to Benjamin Chatterton, son of David and Marie Chatterton. Throughout high school, Chatterton has played performing and leadership roles and received special awards in such musical organizations as Oswego High School concert orchestra, symphonic orchestra, and commencement orchestra; SUNY Oswego College Community Orchestra; All County Festival Orchestra; All State Festival Orchestra; NYS School Music Association Solo Festival; and Oswego Harborfest children’s musicals. He also earned awards in his 4H activities in grooming, handling, and training dogs and was third place in the Junior National Championship in Golf as the New York State representative. He will attend Onondaga Community College to study music.

The Oswego Rotary Club, founded 88 years ago, raises money for scholarships through members’ dues and contributions, occasional memorial gifts, and fundraising projects.

The club hosts the annual Top 100 Dinner to honor the accomplishments of the 25 top academic students in each of the four classes at Oswego High School.

The club has established an endowment fund to help underwrite the scholarship program in the future.

Gifts and bequests will be held in perpetuity, with only the earnings used for awards.

Members of the Scholarship Committee this year are David Granoff, Carrie Penoyer, Randy Zeigler and Vernon Tryon.

Anyone having questions about membership in the Oswego Rotary Club or its scholarship program is invited to call Tryon, membership committee chairman, at 343-9692.