Harborfest Welcomes New Officers, Board Members

OSWEGO, NY – Folks visiting the annual Oswego Harborfest celebration enjoy the food, music, fireworks, but aren’t necessarily aware of what it took to stage one of the largest admission free festivals in the nation.

Executive Director Doug Buske said, “It takes a substantial number of people who possess a wide range of life experiences to organize and stage the annual event.”

Twenty-three area residents and business persons have volunteered to serve on the 2015 Oswego Harborfest Board of Directors.

New officers established in their new leadership positions are Chena Tucker, this year’s president, while Ernest Monts is the first vice president, Colleen Carmella the second vice president, Joan Carroll treasurer, Marta Santiago recording secretary, Chuck Handley  correspondence secretary and Bruce Turner the at-large officer.

New to the board are Mary Greeney, Heathe Jones, Julie Restuccio, Margaret Mahaney, John Zanewych and Ann Kirk.

The six new members join Jeff Bame, Ron Falise, Joe Garafolo, Tony Gentile, Lisa Gray, Marilyn McMillen, Jake Mulcahey, Mike Myers, Amy Tresider and  Dave “Gibby” Thompson in creating an environment that supplies memories and exciting experiences for Harborfest fans.

Buske said, “The teamwork that is involved in making Harborfest the success that it is amazing. Everyone on the board of directors brings a special expertise to the table and that knowledge and experience creates the complete picture that helps provide in keeping Harborfest one of the largest admission free festivals in the nation.”

Oswego Harborfest will begin on July 23 at Breitbeck Park in Oswego and conclude on July 26.