Jimmy Phelps The Class Of The Modified Field At The Brewerton Speedway

BREWERTON, NY – (By Dave Medler) – Jimmy Phelps out of Baldwinsville turned around opening night disappointment after ignition problems sidelined the defending track champion. On Friday night, Phelps grabbed the lead at the start of the 35 lap Tracey Road Equipment  Big Block Modified feature and dominated the entire way, serving notice he won’t be easy to dethrone as champion.

Other winners on Ehrlich The Pest Control Experts night were, Chris Fleming, Nationwide Insurance IMCA Modifieds, Tim Devendorf, Anchor Bar & Grill Mod Lites and Zak Petrie, Four Cylinder Super Stocks.

Matt Hulsizer and Jimmy Phelps brought the Tracey Road Equipment Big Block Modified field down to the green with Phelps blasting into the early lead at the start of the 35 lap main.

With 5 laps in the books, Phelps opened a few car length lead over Hulsizer and Chad Phelps, while Alan Johnson and Chris Hile battled in the top-five just before a yellow for Dan Vauter. Vauter made a quick trip to the pits and returned.

On lap 10, Phelps was still in command opening a ten car length advantage, as Tom Sears Jr., Hulsizer, Larry Wight and Johnson used up every inch of the speedway fighting for second through fifth.

With 15 laps showing on the lap counter, Phelps looked to be getting quicker by running the bottom in turns one and two, and the top in three and four. Sears, Hulsizer and Wight were still in a tight fight with Willy Decker closing quick in fifth.

On lap 20, Phelps was still on cruise control as he started putting cars down a lap, building up almost a five-second lead. Behind Phelps, Sears, Hulsizer, Wight and Decker were still fighting for top-five spots like it was the last lap of the race.

Over the remaining laps with no yellows to tighten the field up, Phelps put  on a clinic cruising under the checkers first by well over a straightaway. Tom Sears Jr., Willy Decker, Larry Wight and Matt Hulsizer finished second through fifth.

Jimmy Phelps talked about his win after parking his  J&B Installations/Industrial Tire Of CNY/ No.99J/Troyer in victory lane.

“We were good tonight, but towards the end I got a little nervous, it started to free-up, I think the track started to go away. We were coming into traffic and was glad we had a little lead and was able to back off and keep our nose out of trouble.” We had a good race car last week but ran into some ignition problems.”

“Next week is going to be a little bit tougher (Handicapping) tonight we had a great starting position due to last week’s problems. It’s a tough place, you still have to have a good car to run up front. We’re happy to get one this early, we do have a car that can come from the back.”

In the 20 lap Nationwide Insurance IMCA Modified feature, Kevan Cook and Chris Fleming put on an exciting race that saw Fleming take the lead on lap 18 to grab his second win in a row. Cook held onto second followed by Dane Keller Jr., Jim Walsh and Robert Weimer.

Like Fleming in the IMCA Modifieds, Tim Devendorf made it two-for-two in the 20 lap Anchor Bar & Grill Mod Lite feature. Devendorf started 13th and only took 8 laps to grab the lead by running the top of the speedway. Once out in the lead nobody had anything for Devendorf the rest of the way. Justin Williams, Lowell Zehr, Jeff Isabell Jr. and early leader Matt Magner rounded out the top-five.

It was a tough week for the Four Cylinder Super Stock family as Jerry Curcie Sr. passed away. Before their 15 lap feature a tribute was given by Lorraine Powelczyk with a missing-man formation before the field took the green.

In the feature Brian Evenden, Zak Petrie and Jessica Herbert-Redhead put on a great race at the front of the field. Redhead would run into problems leaving Evenden and Petrie to settle it. When the checkers flew, defending track champion Petrie picked up the victory. Brian Evenden, Aron Backus, Colby Herzog and Stephen Denton chased Petrie across the line.

This coming Friday, May 10th Mod Lite driver Jim Bogett and his Pro Race Cars, builders of Mod Lites presents a night of speed and thrills. On the race card will be the Tracey Road Equipment Big Block Modifieds, Nationwide Insurance IMCA Modifieds, Anchor Bar & Grill Mod Lites and Four Cylinder Super Stocks.

Pro Race Cars will sponsor a special event for the Mod Lites called “Crack The Whip.” The event will take the top-four out of each heat race setting up a special 12 lap event for those cars. Look for invaders from Delaware and Canada who have committed to the night of racing.

Gates will open this Friday night at 5:30 with racing starting at 7:30. Adult grandstand admission will $12 with everyone 18 yrs old and younger admitted FREE to the grandstands. Pit admission is 25 Member/$30 Non-Member.

Any questions you might have about the new season please contact Cory Reed at (315) 668-6906 or [email protected] . Keep up with track updates throughout the season at www.brewertonspeedway.com and www.fultonspeedway.com, on each speedway’s Facebook accounts and on Twitter at twitter.com/Fultonspeedway and twitter.com/BrewertonSpdway

(TRACEY ROAD EQUIPMENT BIG BLOCK MODIFIEDS 35 LAPS) – JIMMY PHELPS, Tom Sears Jr., Willy Decker,  Larry Wight, Matt Hulsizer, Chad Phelps, Matt Sheppard, Alan Johnson, Dale Planck, Billy Decker, Tim Sears Jr., Ryan Phelps, Chris Hile, Robbie Bellinger, Chuck Bower, Dan Vauter, Pat O’Brien, Pat Ward, Jim Witko, Joe August Jr., Johnny Hill, Ryan Bartlett.

(NATIONWIDE INSURANCE IMCA MODIFIEDS 20 LAPS) – CHRIS FLEMING, Kevan Cook, Dane Keller Jr., Jim Walsh, Robert Weimer, John West, Jason Amidon, Mike Jones, Andy Kieffer.

(ANCHOR BAR & GRILL MOD LITES 20 LAPS) – TIM DEVENDORF, Justin Williams, Lowell Zehr, Jeff Isabell Jr., Matt Magner, Alan Fink, Rick Demo, Frank Sobotka, Mike Mullen, Sam Usborne, Jeff Blackburn, Cody Fleming, Sterling Miller, Jeff Isabell, Jim Bogett, Ryan Blackburn, Dave Brown, Lane Bush, Doug Williams, Joe Isabell, Nick Graziano, Jeremy Isabell, Gary Jeffries.

(FOUR CYLINDER SUPER STOCKS 15 LAPS) – ZAK PETRIE, Brian Evenden, Aron Backus, Colby Herzog, Stephen Denton, Wendall Washington, Sam Curcie, Kyle Young, Bill Carista, Peter Van Buskirk, Jack Taskey, Marrisa Atkinson, Chuck Powelczyk, Jessica Herbert-Redhead, David De Nova, William Root, Stephanie Seeley, Dan Dupra, Jeff Herbert, Sam Carista.