Johnson Makes Late Charge To Grab The Modified Victory At Brewerton Speedway

By Dave Medler
BREWERTON, NY – Never count Alan Johnson out of a Modified feature at the Brewerton Speedway. Johnson, the master of running the bottom of the speedway went just the opposite direction Friday night at the “D-Shaped Dirt Demon.” Using the top groove, Johnson ran down and passed leader Chris Hile on lap 27 of the 35 lap Tracey Road Equipment Big Block Modified feature.

Once in the lead, Johnson held off points leader Jimmy Phelps for his 61st Brewerton Speedway win.

Other winners on Syracuse Haulers/Shriners & Masons night were, Ryan Scott, Nationwide Insurance IMCA Modifieds, Jeff Isabell Jr., Beaver River Distribution Mod Lites and Chuck Powelczyk, Anchor Bar & Grill Four Cylinder Super Stocks.

Willy Decker out ran Jim Witko Jr. and the rest of the 27 car field to lead the opening lap of the 35 lap Tracey Road Equipment Big Block Modified feature.

By lap 5, Decker opened a comfortable lead running the cushion, while behind him, Witko, Chuck Bower, Roy Bresnahan and Alan Johnson were in a tight battle for second through fifth.

With 10 laps complete, Decker still running the top, opened a full straightaway lead as Witko and Bower tried to close the gap on Decker.

A quick yellow on lap 12, for a spin by Robbie Bellinger, erased the big lead Decker had built-up. On the restart Bower blasted by Decker to be scored the new leader on lap 13.

With 15 laps showing on the scoring tower, Bower opened a 10 car length advantage over Decker, Chris Hile, Matt Sheppard who started seventeenth and Alan Johnson.

After a quick yellow on lap 16, would see Decker regain the lead on lap 17 and then, Hile found the speed he needed to drive to lead at halfway point, lap 18.

When the scoring tower showed 10 to go, Hile was still quick running the bottom where there was still brown, but Johnson who worked his way to second looked to be getting quicker running the top. Jimmy Phelps who started sixteenth, Chad Phelps and Sheppard were within striking distance.

On lap 27, Johnson drove around Hile into the top-spot just before a final caution setting up a dash to the finish.

When the race went back green, Jimmy Phelps was able to get by Hile and set his sights on Johnson as the laps clicked off towards the checkers.

Over the final laps, Phelps threw everything he had in his Troyer looking for a way around Johnson. On this night Johnson was to quick as he was the first under the checkers by 0.783 of a second over Phelps. Matt Sheppard, Chris Hile and Chad Phelps finished third through fifth.

“It feels good to get one here. I saw Jimmy Phelps and Matt (Sheppard) go by me, I thought we just don’t got it. I just gave it all we could, found a lane the car liked and just stuck with it,” Said Alan Johnson after putting his Commercial Roofing & Sheet Metal/ No.10 J/ Bicknell in victory lane.

Johnson talked about his pass for the lead and the win.

” He (Chris Hile) slipped a couple times and got out of the groove and started to slow in the corners. I had nothing to lose trying the high side. I thought it was pretty good in one and two, Three and four I was a little worried. I went up high in one and two and it stuck good, three and four was good in the middle. Just couldn’t ask for a better car.”

The 20 lap Nationwide Insurance IMCA Modified feature was a barnburner over the second half of the race that involved the top-three in the point standings, Kevan Cook, Ryan Scott and Chris Fleming. It was Ryan Scott who ran the top of the speedway getting by Fleming with one lap to go, grabbing his fourth win of the year for the Canadian. Cook, Jason Amidon and Rob Keller finished behind Scott and Fleming.

Coming into Friday night, Tim Devendorf was undefeated, six for six in the races he entered in the Beaver river Distribution 20 lap Mod Lite features this season. Most people in attendance figured when Devendorf took the lead for the second time on lap10, write the check in his name.

Jeff Isabell Jr. had other ideas as he was able to run down Devendorf, diving under him in three and four, setting up a drag race to the finish that saw Isabell Jr. win by inches. Rick Demo, Gary Jeffries and Joe Isabell finished third through fifth.

Chuck Powelczyk picked up his seventh win in eight starts in the 15 lap Anchor Bar & Grill Four Cylinder Super Stock feature. The win was extra special for Chuck, he was flying a “007” flag on his car in honor of his good friend Russ Cusson who lost his life 10 years earlier at the Brewerton Speedway from a heart attack after his heat race.

This coming Friday, July 28, The Waterfront & Calypso Cay Restaurants that is located within a couple minutes of the speedway on route11presents a full night of exciting race action. On the race card will be the Tracey Road Equipment Big Block Modifieds, Nationwide Insurance IMCA Modifieds, Beaver River Distribution Mod Lites and Anchor Bar & Grill Four Cylinder Super Stocks. The popular Home Depot Kids Workshop will be back for their second visit of the season.

Gates will open Friday night at 5:30 with the first green flag to wave at 7:30. . Adult grandstand admission will be $12 with everyone 18 years old and younger admitted FREE to the grandstands. Pit admission will be $27 competitors/$30 for non-competitors.

Keep up with the tracks throughout the season by visiting and, on each speedway’s Facebook accounts and on Twitter at and

(TRACEY ROAD EQUIPMENT BIG BLOCK MODIFIEDS 35 LAPS) – ALAN JOHNSON, Jimmy Phelps, Matt Sheppard, Chris Hile, Chad Phelps, Peter Britten, Rich Scagliotta, Billy Decker, Chuck Bower, Dan Vauter, Ryan Phelps, Pat Ward, Robbie Bellinger, Willy Decker, Mike Mahaney, Roy Bresnahan, Matt Hulsizer, Chris Stull, Larry Wight, Tim Sears Jr., Matt Fink, Jim Witko Jr., Steve Hulsizer, Mike Bowman, Joe August Jr., Ryan Bartlett, John Morse.

(NATIONWIDE INSURANCE IMCA MODIFIEDS 20 LAPS) – RYAN SCOTT, Chris Fleming, Kevan Cook, Jason Amidon, Rob Keller, Matt Roberts, Rich Keller, Gary Roberts, Dan Searles, Lee Smiedy, Brian Van Tassell, Brandon Blair, Mike Jones, Andy Keiffer, Phil Loosen, John West, Mike Smith, Brandon Carvey.

(BEAVER RIVER DISTRIBUTION MOD LITES 20 LAPS) – JEFF ISABELL JR., Tim Devendorf, Rick Demo, Gary Jeffries, Joe Isabell, Mike Mullen, Sam Usborne, Joe Garafolo, Jim Bogett, Rob Grzelka, Justin Williams, Terry Lapham, Zach Babcock, Gary Sampo, Lane Bush, Russ Brown, Lowell Zehr, Doug Williams, Cody Fleming, Jeremy Isabell, Nick Graziano, Les Baker, Lorrie Herbert, Kelly Skinner.

(ANCHOR BAR & GRILL FOUR CYLINDER SUPER STOCKS 15 LAPS) – CHUCK POWELCZYK, Zak Petrie, Jacoby Palmiteer, Wendall Washington, Chad Dupra, Sam Curcie, Bill Root, Sam Carista, Mark Warder, Bill Carista, Richard Leahey, Jessica Redhead, David Baker, Lorraine Powelczyk, Stephanie Seely.