Justin Haers Grabs First Ever Fulton Speedway Big Block Modified Win On Opening Night

FULTON, NY  – A tough field of Tracey Road Equipment DIRTcar Modifieds signed into the pits on opening night at the Fulton Speedway. Add to the field, Super DIRTcar Series touring drivers shaking their cars down for Saturday’s “High Bank Hold Up 100” series race made it an All-Star field.

Justin Haers
Justin Haers

After 35 laps, Justin Haers a series regular out of Phelps, NY served notice he was going to be tough to beat Saturday as he dominated the feature. For Haers it was his first ever Fulton Speedway Big Block Modified win.

Other winners on opening night were, Jeff Isabell Jr. Pro Race Cars Mod Lites and Chris Fleming in the 12 lap rain shortened Nationwide Insurance IMCA Modifieds. The Hilton Automotive Four Cylinders Stocks had their feature postponed because of rain to next Saturday, May 3.

After winning their heat races, Justin Haers and Vinnie Vitale brought the Tracey Road Equipment DIRTcar Modified field down to the green with Haers snagging the early advantage before a quick yellow at the end of the opening lap.

By lap-5 Haers opened a half a straightaway lead over Matt Billings who ran alone in second. Behind the top-two, Vitale, Pat Ward and Chris Hile fought for third through fifth.

With 10-laps showing on the lap counter, Haers was on rails as he ran the top of turns one and two and the bottom in three and four as he started catching the back of the field. Billings, Vitale, Ward and Hile still showed in the top-five.

At the halfway point and no yellows to tighten the field up, Haers was picking off cars with ease putting them a lap down with Billings trying to keep the leader in sight. Vitale, Ward and now Billy Decker were in a tight fight for positions in the top-five.

When the starter gave the 10-laps to go sign and sill no cautions, Haers was using every inch of the track putting distance of over a straightaway between himself and Billings who was having a strong run in second.

Over the remaining laps Justin Haers was in his own zip code as he easily was first under the checkers. Matt Billings, Vinnie Vitale, Matt Sheppard and Billy Decker rounded out the top-five.

After parking his Phelps Cement Products/No.3/Bicknell in victory lane, Haers talked about his first ever Fulton Speedway, Tracey Road Equipment DIRTcar Modified victory.

“I’ll tell you what, they dropped the green and it was on a rail, I couldn’t believe how good we were.” Said Haers. “I got in some lapped traffic and was going to press the issue a little more, but I figured nobody showed me a nose yet so I was going to be as patient as I could. I just didn’t want to get in a jingle with anybody and cause myself the race. It was a great win and feels good to win at Fulton.”

Hares related he won in a small block modified about ten years ago and hopefully would get a third win at the track on Saturday running the “High Bank Hold Up 100” Super DIRTcar Series race.

Jeff Isabell Jr. grabbed the lead early on and from there was never seriously challenged in the Pro Race Cars Mod Lite Feature. The battles  behind Isabell was tight and entertaining one with the fans that saw Clayton Brewer III driving for the injured Mike Mullen, Lowell Zehr, Sam Usborne and Jim Bogett round out the top-five.

In the rain shortened Nationwide Insurance IMCA Modified feature Chris Fleming showed he’s going to be tough to contend with once again as he put his new car in victory lane. Kevan Cook, Jason Amidon, Johnny Bell and Dane Keller chased Fleming across the line.

Due to the rain the set in over the speedway, the Hilton Automotive Four Cylinder Stocks will run their feature (Non-Points) May 3 before the night’s scheduled race program.

On May 3, Oswego County Today presents the point’s season opener. On the race card will be the Tracey Road Equipment DIRTcar Modifieds, SUNY Canton Sportsman, NAPA Late Models, E&V Energy Novice Sportsman, A-Verdi Storage Containers 305 Sprints and the Hilton Automotive Four Cylinder Stocks. Gates will open at 5:00 with racing at 7:00. Adult grandstand admission will be $12 with everyone 18 years old and younger free. Pit admission is $27.

Keep up with all the latest news on the speedway website at www.fultonspeedway.com or the Facebook page www.facebook.com/FultonSpeedway.  Any questions about the season please contact Cory Reed at [email protected] (315)593-6531.

(TRACEY ROAD EQUIPMENT DIRTcar MODIFIEDS 35 LAPS) – JUSTIN HAERS, Matt Billings, Vinnie Vitale, Matt Sheppard, Billy Decker, Jimmy Phelps, Pat Ward, Roy Bresnahan, Chris Hile, Matt Fink, Larry Wight, Ryan Phelps, Tommy Kinsella, Tom Sears, Matt Hulsizer, Chad Phelps, Tim Sears Jr., Rob Bellinger, Billy VanInwegen, Justin Wright, Chris Mackey, Katelyn Kane, Tim Kerr, Alan Johnson, Chuck Bower, Jim Witko.

(OMNI SERVICES MODIFED HEAT WINNERS)  – Justin Haers, Vinnie Vitale, Matt Billings

(PRO RACE CARS MOD LITES 15 LAPS) – JEFF ISABELL JR., Clayton Brewer III, Lowell Zehr, Sam Usborne, Jim Bogett, Alan Fink, Harley Brown, Tom Juhl, Doug Williams, Terry Lapham, Joe Garafolo, Justin Williams, Zack Babcock, Mike Larose, Jeff Blackburn, Nick Graziano, David Brown, Brian Meyers, Tim Cady, Rick Demo, Steve Miller.

(OPEN) – Lowell Zehr     (STOCK- SPEC) –Jeff Isabell Jr.

(NATIONWIDE INSURANCE IMCA MODIFIEDS 12 LAPS) – CHRIS FLEMING, Kevan Cook, Jason Amidon, Johnny Bell, Dane Keller Jr., Joe Hall, Mike Jeffries, David Piscitelli, Thomas Mackey.

Hilton Automotive Four Cylinder Stocks Feature (Non-Points) Will Be Run May 3.