Keith Shampine Leads Open Practice with Osetek Racing No. 55 Machine

OSWEGO, NY – On a beautiful Friday evening, nearly 30 racecars took to Oswego Speedway for its annual open practice session with Keith Shampine and defending Pathfinder Bank SBS Classic Champion Mike Bond leading the speed charts.

" data-medium-file="" data-large-file="" class="size-medium wp-image-216187" src="" alt="Keith Shampine heads through Oswego’s fourth turn Friday evening." width="300" height="198" srcset=" 300w, 150w, 460w, 1200w" sizes="(max-width: 300px) 100vw, 300px" />
Keith Shampine heads through Oswego’s fourth turn Friday evening.

A total of 15 different Novelis Supermodifieds were on hand with 14 machines recording official lap times on the fast 5/8 mile oval.

Shampine, who is looking for his first feature win at the speedway this season in the new Osetek Racing No. 55, blistered the Steel Palace with a lap of 16.369 seconds in the TJ Toyota machine.

Otto Sitterly, who set the quickest time in hot laps last year, was the second fastest driver of the day in the No. 7 at a lap of 16.437 seconds.

Michael Barnes, DJ Shullick, Joey Payne, Joe Gosek, Dave Gruel, Dave McKnight, and Dave Danzer joined Shampine and Sitterly under the 17 second bracket and rounded out the top 10.

Michael Muldoon, Brandon Bellinger, Jeff Abold and Lou LeVea Jr. also saw track time and all got down to the low 17 second bracket. Logan Rayvals was also on hand with the No. 94, but only to fire his machine.

Pat Lavery had the new prototype 350 Supermodified on hand as well and got the John Colloca built ride down to consistent laps at 18.4 seconds before running a best time of 18.382 in the final session of the evening.

A total of 13 Pathfinder Bank SBS were on hand with Bond leading test times at 18.807 seconds. Bond was the only car under the 19-second bracket.

Bond, Andrew Schartner, Dave Cliff, Camden Proud, and Mike Bruce earned the five fastest times of the day.

The speedway returns to racing action tomorrow (May 13) for the track’s 67th annual Opening Day presented by Mitchell’s Speedway Press and featuring 50 and 30 lap kickoff events for the Novelis Supermodifieds and Pathfinder Bank SBS plus the Richie Evans Memorial 61 for the Race of Champions Asphalt Modified Series.

For more information on Oswego Speedway be sure to visit You can also follow on Twitter @OswegoSpeedway and like on Facebook at

Pathfinder Bank SBS:

74 – Mike Bond

18 – Andrew Schartner

50 – Dave Cliff

54 – Camden Proud

22- Mike Bruce

01 – Dalton Doyle

37 – Jesse Bearup

90 – Greg O’Connor

89 – Tony Pisa

8 – Josh Kerr

77 – Cameron Rowe

9 – Jack Patrick

Novelis Supermodifieds:

55 – Keith Shampine

7 – Otto Sitterly

68 – Michael Barnes

2- Dave Shullick Jr

14 – Joey Payne

00 – Joe Gosek

50 – Dave Gruel

70 – Dave McKnight

6 – Otto Sitterly

72 – Dave Danzer

15 – Michael Muldoon

02 – Brandon Bellinger

05 – Jeff Abold

83 – Lou LeVea Jr.