Latest Oswego High School Hall of Fame Inductees Announced; Induction on April 26

OSWEGO – The “Class of 2013” will be inducted into the Oswego High School Athletic Hall of Fame on April 26 at the Oswego County Club.

The Oswego Buccaneer Boosters Club continues its support of the Hall of Fame as the sixth class will be introduced and inducted as members will have their plaques placed on the “Wall of Fame” in the Oswego High School lobby.

This year’s class includes athletes Maggie Lester and Howard Mulcahey with veteran coach and contributor Alice Reardon and swimming coach Debbie Mann.

Also inducted will be the1991 Section III Class A championship tennis team coached by Bill Fatiga whose roster included  Brian Mitchell, Jason Walbourn, Dan Lapus, Brian Cole, Anuj Agrawal, Bryan Brutsch, Matt Saltalamachia, Matte Lindgren, Anders Dalmean, Drew Narayan, Kevin Moore, Jeff DeSantis, Matt Weber, Steve Babcock, Nate Morey and Joe Deal.

Reservations can be made by contacting Bev DeLong at the Oswego High School Athletic Office at 341-2019 on or before April 18.

The cocktail hour will begin at 6 p.m. with the induction ceremony scheduled for 7 p.m.

Payment for the event will be accepted via check or cash at the door on the night of the event.

However, reservations are necessary as space is limited.

Since its inception the Oswego High School Athletic Hall of Fame has recognized deserving teams, athletes, coaches and contributors.

Lester was an outstanding Buc golfer who went to continue her success at Penn state and in competition.  She is a 2003 graduate of OHS and was first team all league five times as well as a five-time team most valuable player.

Reardon was instrumental in the implementation of Title IX within the Oswego City School District. She started the Girls Athletic Association which fostered fair competition, fellowship and sportsmanship and provided clinics to teach skills and rules. She made substantial contributions to the growth of women’s sports in the district.

Mann guided the Bucs in the late 1990s through 2003.  Her teams accounted for tremendous success with a seven-year run of 83 consecutive victories.

Mulcahey was a 1974 graduate of OHS and was most accomplished in football and wrestling.  His honors included the 1974 Onondaga League Tournament championships and he was a two-way lineman on the gridiron as he played four seasons of football.

The 1991 boys’ varsity tennis team is the only Oswego squad that won the tournament and Section III titles.

The Buc Booster Club sponsored Oswego High School Athletic Hall of Fame continues to grow this week with the addition of these outstanding athletes and coach.

Once again all honorees are guests of the Buc Boosters, but reservations for family, friends and community members should be made as soon as possible by contacting DeLong at the Oswego High School Athletic Office.