Leadership Oswego County Class of 2011 to Graduate June 3

Submitted by Leadership Oswego County

SUNY Oswego’s Leadership Oswego County program will graduate 18 members of the Class of 2011 on June 3.  Ceremonies for the program, an initiative of the college’s Office of Business and Community Relations, will take place at 6 p.m. in the Sheldon Hall ballroom at SUNY Oswego.

Leadership Oswego County’s 20th graduation will also honor Diane Cooper-Currier, executive director of Oswego County Opportunities Inc., with the Community Leadership award, and Nancy Bellow, former executive director of the office of business and community relations, and originator of the Leadership Oswego County program, with the Distinguished Alumni Award.

This year’s graduating class will complete its project, a tree planting and fundraiser for the Oswego Tree Stewards, on May 20. The current class has raised nearly $2,000 to benefit the tree stewards.

Recruitment has started for Leadership Oswego County’s Class of 2012. The program teaches community trusteeship, leadership skills, current issues, visioning and networking to a diverse group of county residents. The intensive nine-month course of study prepares this select group to become the community leaders of the future.

Applications can be found online at http://www.oswego.edu/about/centers/obcr/loc.html.

Sponsors of the Leadership Oswego County 2010 program include Entergy Nuclear, Operation Oswego County, YP Voice, National Grid, Alliance Bank, BPO Elks 271, Fulton Savings Bank, Ameriprise Financial Services, Oswego County Business Magazine, Oswego County Federal Credit Union, Eastern Shore Associates, Vickery Insurance, Catholic Charities, and Cornell Cooperative Extension of Oswego County.

For more information or to attend the graduation ceremonies, call OBCR at 312-3492.