Leadership Oswego County to honor its 20 graduates, 2 area leaders

OSWEGO — SUNY Oswego’s Leadership Oswego County will salute 20 graduates and two special honorees June 1 in Hewitt Union ballroom on campus.

The ceremony will honor those who have completed the community-leadership skills program, as well as Barbara Bateman, this year’s Community Leadership Award winner, and 2001 program alumnus Richard DenBleyker with the Distinguished Alumni Award.

The class of 2012 has completed its project, a collection of hygiene items for distribution to local human services agencies.

Recruitment has started for the class of 2013, which will begin in September — the program’s 20th year.

The nine-month Leadership Oswego County program, sponsored by the SUNY Oswego Office of Business and Community Relations, teaches community trusteeship, leadership skills, current issues and networking to a diverse group of community residents, with the goal of preparing them for community leadership roles.

The curriculum includes monthly discussions with key community members about Oswego County and its resources, vision and vital issues affecting the area.

Those wishing to attend the graduation ceremony or to receive more information about SUNY Oswego’s Leadership Oswego County program should call 312-3492 or visithttp://www.oswego.edu/about/centers/obcr/loc.html