Local residents receive SUNY Oswego scholarships

OSWEGO, NY – SUNY Oswego has awarded merit scholarships to more than 600 incoming students, including $17,600 Presidential Scholarships to the following local residents.

They are, with the high school name in parentheses, if applicable:

Ryann Crofoot of West Fifth Street South in Fulton (G. Ray Bodley High School).

Lyndsey Ladd of South Pollard Drive in Fulton (G. Ray Bodley High School).

Carson Metcalf of Riverview Drive in Fulton (G. Ray Bodley High School).

Ruth Salvetti of Sundown Road in Fulton (home-schooled).

Meghan Gillen of P.O. Box 221 in Hannibal (Hannibal Central School).

Amy Proulx of Perfield Road in Hastings (Paul V. Moore High School).

Hannah Valentino of County Route 6 in Mexico (home-schooled).

Hannah Allen of Lakeshore Road in Oswego (Oswego High School).

Ali Alsalameh of Deer Trail in Oswego (Oswego High School).

Paul Bradshaw of Ellen Street in Oswego (Oswego High School).

Zachary Gerber of Valley View Drive in Oswego (Oswego High School).

Stephen Hook of West Myers Road in Oswego (Oswego High School).

Suzanne King of County Route 85 in Oswego (Hannibal Central School).

Jeremy Purce of Miller Street in Oswego (Oswego High School).

Marycatherine Rice of East Sixth Street in Oswego (Oswego High School).

Katherine Schermerhorn of Windsong Avenue in Oswego (Oswego High School).

Ethan Walker of County Route 4 in Oswego (Home School Clearing House).

Martin Dann of French Street in Parish (Paul V. Moore High School).

Paige Haney of Perry Road in Pennellville (John C. Birdlebough High School).

Thomas Huffaker of Frenchmans Creek Drive in Phoenix (home-schooled).

Kenneth Roffo of Wallace Road in Phoenix (John C. Birdlebough High School).

Hallie Gaffney of Frank Lacy Road in Pulaski (Pulaski Junior-Senior School).

All of the scholarship recipients have reserved a place in Oswego’s incoming freshman class for the fall semester. Classes will begin Aug. 27.

The awards recognize students’ past academic achievements and potential for success. Outstanding first-year students entering Oswego are offered $17,600 Presidential Scholarships ($4,400 a year for up to four years), $5,000 Deans’ Awards ($1,250 a year for up to four years) or $2,000 Merit Awards ($500 a year for up to four years).

First-year students who have completed the strongest academic programs with the highest grade averages and standardized test scores are invited to become Presidential Scholars. This year students receiving the $17,600 scholarships have average high school grade averages of 94 and average SAT scores of 1240.

The awards are part of more than $3 million in merit scholarship money offered at SUNY Oswego. These funds are in addition to the more than $75 million in need-based grants, loans and work-study awards that SUNY Oswego students receive annually.

Admission to SUNY Oswego is competitive. U.S. News named it among the “Top Public Regional Universities in the North” for 2012, the Princeton Review and USA Today named SUNY Oswego to their 2012 list of 150 “best value” colleges and universities in the nation, and the Princeton Review included Oswego in its 2012 college guidebook “The Best Northeastern Colleges.”

A 151-year-old comprehensive college in the State University of New York system, Oswego enrolls more than 8,000 students in its College of Liberal Arts and Sciences; School of Business; School of Communication, Media and the Arts; and School of Education.