Maffei Announces Agriculture Advisory Board

SYRACUSE, NY – U.S. Representative Dan Maffei today (Feb. 5) announced the formation of an agriculture advisory board for the 24th Congressional District. The board, which consists of 27 members of the agriculture community from all four counties of the 24th District, will meet regularly and provide Rep. Maffei with input on federal agriculture policy.

“Agriculture is an important part of our economy in Central New York, and it’s critical for me to hear directly from members of our agriculture community about the policies that impact their businesses,” said Rep. Maffei. “This agriculture advisory board is made up of a diverse group of farmers, producers, and other local agriculture leaders from across the 24th District, and I look forward to meeting with them to discuss ways we can work together to strengthen our agricultural economy and help our farmers compete and succeed.”

In January, Rep. Maffei held two agriculture roundtables in Onondaga County and Wayne County to discuss the concerns, challenges, and opportunities facing the agriculture community in Central New York.

Based on conversations with local farmers and other stakeholders during these roundtables, Rep. Maffei formed the agriculture advisory board.

The board’s co-chairs are Bruce Krupke of Northeast Dairy Foods Association, Elizabeth Claypoole of the Cornell Cooperative Extension – Wayne County and John Sorbello of the New York Farm Bureau.

Other members include:

Amy Tresidder, Oswego County Legislature

Bill Byrne, Byrne Dairy

Brian Reeves, Reeves Farms

Charles “Chuck” Kyle, Kyle Farms

Dave Stern, Rose Valley Farms

Doug Ververs, Cornell Cooperative Extension

Frank Teeple, Teeple Farms,

Gary Orbaker, Orbaker Fruit Farms

Glenda Neff, American Farmland Trust

Harvey Skeele, Onondaga County Farm Bureau

Jason Turek, Turek Farms

Jeff Richards, Oswego County Soil & Water Conservation District

John DeHollander, Oswego County Soil & Water Conservation District

Mark E. Burger, Onondaga County Soil and Water District

Mark James, New York Farm Bureau

Michael Madison, Belle Terre Farms and Irrigation

Ora Rothfuss, Wayne County Planning Department

Peter Bump, Pete’s Plentiful Produce

Peter Fleckenstein, Beak and Skiff Apple Farm

Ray Lockwood, Cayuga County Farm Bureau

Sandy Huey, Cayuga County Soil & Water Conservation District

Skip Jensen, New York Farm Bureau

Derek Hill, Tully Central School District

Jessica Wells, Apple Shed