Memorial Day Salute Parade Awards Announced

Fulton–The Memorial Day Salute Parade Committee announces the judges’ awards for Saturday’s parade. The theme for the 30th Annual Memorial Day Parade was “PROUD TO BE AN AMERICAN.” Based upon this theme, the judges chose several groups in the parade that best represented this year’s theme. Zachary Menter, Parade Chairman, announced the following judge’s decisions.

The winner of “The Grand Marshall Award” for the most patriotic and interesting group was the Fulton Elks Club Lodge #830 float. Their float was elegantly decorated and gave a very positive patriotic message to the audience and the parade judges.

A parade is music, with bands of different sizes and sounds. The “Best Music Trophy” was awarded to the Central Square Middle School Marching Band, under the direction of Andrew Graziano. Mr. Graziano works hard with his students to develop their skills. His band is large and the sound is outstanding for children of that age level.

The Fulton Wrestling Club won the “Theme Trophy.” Their float was colorful, contained many children, and the display of large pictures of many former club members who are now serving in the armed forces impressed the judges. The Fulton Wrestling Club met all aspects of the parade theme of “Proud To Be An American.”

There are always a large number of children’s groups in the parade, so the parade committee awards three trophies in the category of Children’s Groups. The first place in the “Children Awards” was awarded to the Off Broadway Dance Studio. Their dance routine and their beautiful float was second to none. Second place went to the Fulton Pop Warner. The Pop Warner boys and girls had a beautiful patriot float, in keeping with the theme, and a talented exhibition by their cheerleading members. Third place went to the Fulton City School District Junior and High School “marching” band. Even though the band is not a marching band, their music and marching ability each Memorial Day is to be complemented.

Three trophies are given by the “Fulton Veteran’s Council” for which veteran’s groups and active military are eligible. Winning first place in the Veteran’s group was the 10th Mountain Division Marching Band from Fort Drum. Winning second place was the Marine Corps Color Guard and Ladies Auxiliary with their float. Taking third place was the Fulton VFW Post 569 Float, Ladies Auxiliary Cars and VFW Junior Girl’s float.

The judges for the parade were the presidents of the four Fulton Service Clubs. The president of the Fulton Rotary Sunrise Club is Ellen Nowyj. President of the Fulton Kiwanis Club is Holly Carpenter. Holly was replaced by her vice president, Sandra Farrands. President of the Fulton Lion’s Club is Fred Aldrich. The president of the Fulton Rotary Club is Dave Cramer.

The Parade Chairperson was Zach Menter and Parade stewards were: Cathy Trowbridge, Robin Griffin, Amanda Griffin, Nancy Cavalier, Patrick Waite, Mike Schroeder, Steve Bero, David Nethercott, Pat Butler, Dawn Butler, and Sharon Foster.

The Memorial Day Salute Committee is made up of the presidents of the four Fulton Service clubs, along with, Tom Mirabito of Kiwanis, Frank Kehoe and Larry Macner from the Fulton Veteran’s Council, Carol Vesico, Cathy Trowbridge, Peggy Donnelly, and Ro Kemmis from the Fulton Sunrise Rotary Club, Steve Bero and Carl Nylen from the Fulton Lion’s Club, Judy Young, Zach Menter, and Dick Kemmis from the Fulton Rotary Club, and Jim Myers, as an interested citizen. This year’s Memorial Day Salute Chairman was Dick Kemmis, Secretary Steve Bero and Tom Mirabito, Treasurer.