Minetto Sixth Graders Move Forward

Submitted Article

MINETTO, NY – It was time for another celebration at the Minetto Elementary School as sixth graders received their certificates to signify that they were prepared for the next step of their education.

Principal Donna Simmons, who was also at her final Minetto ceremony as she will be assuming the principal role at Fitzhugh, commenced the proceedings.

Molly Malone and Kyle Collins celebrated with the other Minetto Elementary School sixth graders as the “Class of 2008″ prepares to move to the Oswego Middle School. Joining with the two students were Principal Donna Simmons and former Minetto students and members of the OHS “Class of 2008″ Troy Flack and Alyssa Collins.Addressing the sixth graders Simmons said, “Your elementary school teachers have laid the foundation for you to continue your academic successes, as you move through the middle school and the high school.”

She encouraged the students to “do the right thing” and by doing so “It will help you be the best you can be.”

Traditionally the Minetto faculty and staff welcome back two alumni.

Two members of the Oswego High School Class of 2008, Alyssa Collins and Troy Flack joined in the celebration.

The returning members of the Minetto family reflected on their time at Minetto.

They also told the students to try their best, try new things and get involved with school as much as possible.

This year’s sixth graders who are bound for the Oswego Middle School included Casey Adner, Mikayla Allen, Myranda Arnesen, Jordan Attwood, Elizabeth Barlow, Collin Beckwith, Sean Blum, Tacy Bricker, Amber Bristol, Richard Bristol, Nicole Burns, Julia Capone, Jacob Cary, Kyle Chrisman, Katelyn Clary, Megan Cleary, Tyler Coleman, Kyle Collins, Madison Collins, Kaylee Conner, Alex Crossman, Samantha Dawley, Joseph Denny, David Dorval, Joshua Dumas, Garrett Dunsmoor, Michael Farden, Daniel Feliciano, Kayla Fike, Victoria Fleitz, Jasmine Fredette, Brandon Galletta, Angelo Gentile, Danielle Gilbert and Sabrina Gonzalez.

Also celebrating their academic success were Alvia Grimshaw, Anna Guinta, Allison Hare, Conor Henrie, Tyler Henry, Brandi Hibbert, Emily Hurlbutt, Samantha Hutchinson, Amber Johnson, Cassidy Jones, Kensey Jones, Jordan Ketcham, Kimberly Korthas, Logan Krass, Jessica Kucharski, Sarah Lamb, Jessa Lamphear, Trey Love, Alexander Makin, Molly Malone, Patrick Manion, Ryan Martin, Caitlyn McRae, Emily Mills, Sean Mooney, Teo Patty, Cassidy Rose, Kaylee Schleicher, Nicholas Sheary, Devin Shoults, Colt Simmons, Teanna Vezzose, Matthew Victory, Tiffani Vosseller and Shay Washington.