;

Music in Our Schools Celebration Kicks Off in Oswego

OSWEGO, NY – March is “Music in Our Schools Month” in the Oswego City School District.

The Oswego High School, Middle School and Charles E. Riley choruses will get an early start on the month long celebration as they perform on Wednesday, February 29 at 7:30 p.m. in the Oswego High School Ralph M. Faust Theatre for the Performing Arts.

The following evening, Thursday, March 1 at 7 p.m. the Minetto Band will take to the Faust stage.

Saturday, March 3, will provide music addicts with the opportunity to enjoy the Oswego High and Oswego Middle School “Festival of the Winds” Band Concert at 7 p.m. at Faust.

The Fitzhugh Park  Orchestra and Concert Band will perform at FPS on Monday, March 5 at 7 p.m.

The Minetto chorus will present the musical “The Little Mermaid” on Thursday, March 8 at 7 p.m.

The Kingsford Park musical “Mary Poppins” will be presented on Thursday, March 15 at the Faust Theatre beginning at 7 p.m. Also scheduled on this evening is the Charles E. Riley Orchestra and Concert Band at CER at 7 p.m.

The Minetto cafeteria will be the setting for the Minetto String Extravaganza on Tuesday, March 20 at 6:30 p.m.

Meanwhile, on Wednesday, March 21 the Kingsford Park Orchestra will present a concert in the KPS gym beginning at 7 p.m.

Fitzhugh Park chorus students stage their original musical “Admiral Ironsides and the Haunting of Haverford Hall” at the Faust Theatre on Wednesday, March 21 and Thursday, March 22 at 7 p.m.

The annual “Festival of the Arts” is scheduled for Powers Gymnasium on Thursday, March 22 at 7 p.m.

On Tuesday, March 27 the Oswego Middle School and SUNY Oswego Orchestra will perform at the Faust Theatre beginning at 7:30 p.m. At the Frederick Leighton Elementary School, on Tuesday March 27, at 7 p.m. the school orchestra concert will be performing in the all-purpose room.

The final performance scheduled for “Music in Our Schools Month” will be on Wednesday, March 28 with the Oswego High School Orchestra Concert at 7:30 p.m.

All concerts have free admission and it is hoped that large crowds will enjoy the celebration of music in Oswego schools.