NHS Chapter Welcomes 45 New Members At Bodley

FULTON – Forty-five G. Ray Bodley High School students proved they are committed to scholarship, leadership, character and service, all required components of the National Honor Society.

" data-medium-file="https://oswegocountytoday.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/01/GRB-NHS-300x69.jpg" data-large-file="https://oswegocountytoday.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/01/GRB-NHS-460x105.jpg" class="size-medium wp-image-231073" src="https://oswegocountytoday.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/01/GRB-NHS-300x69.jpg" alt="The 2018 members of GRB’s Joseph Campolieta Chapter of the National Honor Society are joined by current NHS members during a recent induction ceremony." width="300" height="69" srcset="https://oswegocountytoday.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/01/GRB-NHS-300x69.jpg 300w, https://oswegocountytoday.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/01/GRB-NHS-150x34.jpg 150w, https://oswegocountytoday.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/01/GRB-NHS-460x105.jpg 460w" sizes="(max-width: 300px) 100vw, 300px" />
The 2018 members of GRB’s Joseph Campolieta Chapter of the National Honor Society are joined by current NHS members during a recent induction ceremony.

For their academic and community efforts, the students were inducted into GRB’s Joseph Campolieta Chapter of the National Honor Society during a recent ceremony in the high school auditorium.

Proud parents, guardians and additional supporters flocked to the event, where they heard proud remarks from Elizabeth Conners, Fulton City School District Executive Director of Instruction and Assessment, and GRB Principal Donna Parkhurst.

“You know there is nothing more admirable than hard work and paying it forward,” Conners said.

She offered encouraging words about the students being well on their way to leaving a legacy, while Parkhurst said it has been rewarding to witness them all emerge as leaders at school and within the greater Fulton community.

NHS admission requirements include: a cumulative grade point average of at least 89.5 percent, an attendance rate average of at least 89.5 percent, community service hours, honorable character references and leadership.

Current NHS officers: vice president Madison Lang, secretary Jacob Geitner, treasurer Nathan Summerville and parliamentarian Julia Guarrera provided detailed descriptions of scholarship, leadership, character and service, respectively.

As each 2018 inductee was introduced, they received an NHS pin and a candle from NHS advisor Nate Fasulo before they joined current NHS members on stage.

After a brief candle-lighting and pledge ceremony, students and their guests enjoyed light refreshments.

The new inductees are: Dani Avery, Justin Barney, Ryan Barry, Maddison Baum, Collin Bennett, Holly Bourgeois, McKenna Bourgeois, Nicholas Brown, Kelly Caza, Shaylee Cealie, Isaac Crandall, Jasmine Criswell, Abigail Cuyler, Andrew Dedich, Cory Dexter, Kathryn Distin, Hunter Dudley, Sarah Fisch, Megan Guernsey, Justin Hatch, Emily Hilton, Jenna Hood and Andrew Hyde. Additional new members are: Jadelyn James, Dominique Johnson, Kylie Jones, Devan Ketcham, Nora Kingsbury, Nathanial Lindsey, Jonathan McCann, Keara Patterson, Elizabeth Roik, Kelsey Rosenbarker, Killian Rowlee, Jenna Ruzekowicz, Eric Shear, Ana Snyder, Camille Stevenson, Ean Stevenson, Quynn Sweeney, Hayley Vann, Erin Waloven, Conner Ware, Kaylee Waugh and Connor Wilde.